TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,669 Reviews & Articles | 36,037 News Posts

GIGABYTE Z87X-OC (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - BIOS

GIGABYTE Z87X-OC (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review

We check out the latest OC board from GIGABYTE under the new Z87 chipset and find out what the Z87X-OC can do when put to the test. (TPE:2376)

| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 10, 2013 1:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_14_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading into the BIOS you're going to see an almost identical design to what was seen on the Z87X-UD3H, which we also reviewed recently. The main difference is the color scheme. Where the UD3H offered a blue scheme to match that board, the OC offers an orange one that matches it - a nice touch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_15_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_16_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_17_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_18_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_19_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_20_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_21_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_22_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

If you're going to do any overclocking, you'll no doubt be bouncing towards the Home and Performance section of the BIOS. The Performance area is the one that offers you a lot more options when it comes to all aspects of overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_23_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_24_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_25_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_26_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_27_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving past those two key areas you can see the standard setup of options when it comes to the rest of the BIOS. As always, though, if you're heading into the BIOS, you'll more than likely be looking at the first two areas.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_28_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5587_29_gigabyte_z87x_oc_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Finally before we leave the BIOS, it's worth mentioning that by hitting F2 you can go into the more classic UEFI BIOS. While this was always our option over the 3D one, the new default BIOS is really fantastic and easy to use. As always, if you're going to do overclocking you'll be in the M.I.T. section, and apart from that the rest of it is self-explanatory.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below