TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - BIOS

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review
We look at our first GIGABYTE Z87 board and check out just what the new Z87X-UD3H brings to the table. (TPE:2376)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 9, 2013 9:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_14_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Getting into the BIOS we're greeted with a new setup which is something we've seen a few companies do with the latest generation Intel Z87 chipset. Some have changed it a fair bit, while others have just done a little bit of tweaking. GIGABYTE have dropped the 3D BIOS, though, and we think it's only a good thing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_15_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_16_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_17_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_18_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_19_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Starting from the home screen you're offered overclocking options. If you want to go into more detail when it comes to overclocking, though, you can head into the Performance section which offers us all the advanced options that you'd expect.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_20_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_21_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_22_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_23_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_24_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

As we move past the Performance options, we can see all the other typical settings that you'd expect to see. The new BIOS layout is super easy to use and ultimately looks fantastic. We're really happy with what GIGABYTE has done here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_25_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_26_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_27_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_28_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_29_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

If you're not a fan of the new design, you can hit F2 and go to Classic Mode. Here is everything you'd expect and in the same position as we saw in the Z77 offerings. We found the new setup great to use, though, and really had no need to use the Classic Mode.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases