TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,681 Reviews & Articles | 36,150 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H Motherboard

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review

We look at our first GIGABYTE Z87 board and check out just what the new Z87X-UD3H brings to the table. (TPE:2376)

| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 9, 2013 9:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_06_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

We've got a matte black PCB look which is one we really like and when it comes to the main highlighted color, you can see that we've got a blue and silver combination.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_07_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the expansion slots you can see we've got a single older legacy PCI slot towards the bottom along with three PCIe x1 slots. We've also got three PCIe x16 slots which are setup in typical fashion. If you're using just one slot, the top slot will run at x16. If you go for two slots then the top slots and the PCIe x16 below it will run at x8. The final PCIe x16 slot will run at x4. If the final PCIe x16 slot is used PCIEX1_2/3 will be unavailable as the bandwidth of those two slots are shared with the final PCIe x16 slot.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_08_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the bottom of the board you can see all the standard connectors starting with a front panel audio on the left. Moving across we've got TPM, COMA, three USB 2.0 headers, a single USB 3.0 header and finally the Front Panel connectors.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_09_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got eight SATA ports available. All are SATA III with the six black ones running directly off the Z87 chipset. The other two which are grey run off the Marvell 88SE9172 chip. Along here you can also see a SATA power connector towards the top of the image. GIGABYTE recommend using this when two or more PCIe x16 video cards are installed. The connector provides more power to the PCIe x16 slots making sure everything always runs smooth and stable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_10_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading towards the top half of the board you can see the typical four DIMM slots. Up to 32GB of DDR3 is supported ranging from 1333MHz DDR to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking. To the right hand side you can see a power switch along with a smaller reset and clear CMOS switch.

 

Looking towards the left you can see the main 24-pin ATX power connector and just above that to the right you can see the LED debug meter. Finally we finish off just to the left of the ATX power connector with another USB 3.0 header.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_11_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_12_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the CPU area side of things you can see we've got an 8-pin CPU power connector at the top of the board and in typical fashion you can see a nice clean looking CPU area along with the heatsink setup present here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5585_13_gigabyte_z87x_ud3h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading over to the I/O department to finish things of you can see we've got a combo PS/2 port along with six USB 3.0 headers. Video out options include DVI-D, VGA, HDMI and DisplayPort. You can also see we've got an optical port that goes with six auxiliary ports, which run off the Realtek ALC898 codec. Finally you can see we've got two eSATA III ports which run off the same Marvell 88SE9172 controller used on the extra SATA III ports inside, along with a Gigabit networking port, which runs off the Intel LAN chip.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below