TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,684 Reviews & Articles | 36,178 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Casetagram Nexus 4 Custom Case Review

Casetagram Nexus 4 Custom Case Review

Casetagram offer the ability to print your own custom case for your smartphone. Let's take a close look at the whole process.

| Cases & Covers in Mobile Devices | Posted: Jul 4, 2013 5:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 84%      Manufacturer: Casetagram

 

Casetagram e-mailed me in the middle of last month out of nowhere, asking me if I'd like to check out their website. I didn't know what they did, but after reading their e-mail and checking out their website, I discovered they made custom phone covers for certain smartphones.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_01_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

I have a Nexus 4, and the e-mail title read 'Casetagram is now available for the Samsung Galaxy S4 and Nexus 4 cases', which of course led me to getting my own custom Nexus 4 case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_05_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.png

 

What Casetagram does different is connect you socially to all of your photos, this way you can choose whichever photo you want for your smartphone cover. This gives you some incredibly wide choices, from Instagram, Facebook or even the ability to upload your own photo. The process of choosing and making sure my phone cover would look great, took no more than five minutes - this is how it should be done! Simple, easy and social!

 

Casetagram do cases for a wide variety of devices, covering most of Apple's devices right up to the iPhone 5, the Galaxy S II, S III, S4, Note II and Note smartphones from Samsung and of course, the Nexus 4.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_04_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.png

 

When customizing your Casetagram smartphone cover, you're given the option of multiple layouts. This is great, as you can cram in a bunch of smaller photos - such as your children - or shots from your Instagram account. You can also drag and drop to select photos, too.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_03_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.png

 

You can choose a case color - either black or clear, but I've chosen clear; which I think will look better. There's also the option of adding "effects" to your custom case. There's a bunch of options as you can expect.

 

You're looking at around $40-$50 for the case, which includes free international shipping - something they don't need to do, but it makes it much more appealing as shipping can really be a killer. I'm based in Australia and my case took around eight days to get to me, which I thought was pretty impressive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_02_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

The case turned out beautifully, as I've chosen a cute shot of my two-year-old daughter, Delilah. The quality is great, and it feels great too - the case itself feels a bit cheap, so I think Casetagram could work on that and maybe offer a "premium" case for $10 more or so, and make it feel like a truly premium product.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_06_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

The finish of the product is amazing, though - the actual photo itself comes out onto the cover looking beautiful and in great detail. This isn't something I expected for $40 including shipping.

 

I noticed my case creaks when I squeeze it - for example, if I reach for my volume rocker and accidentally squeeze the sides. If I just squeeze it in general, it will squeak which makes it feel (and sound), cheap.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_07_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_08_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

On my Nexus 4 case, Casetagram have put a cut out for the SIM card slot - something I did not like at all. I don't access my SIM card slot all that often, maybe once a year when I'm travelling overseas, so the extra cut out annoys me.

 

Mostly because of the way I'm used to using my phone, if I'm receiving a call and go to put it on silent by reaching for the volume rocker and pressing the volume down button. But, with a cut out under it, sometimes my finger will reach for that hole instead of the volume rocker. Sure, it's a small issue - but it's something definitely worth considering - and again, should be optioned in the custom making process.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_09_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

Other than that, I'm impressed with what Casetagram have on offer here. They're offering mostly a quality product, with a super simple way of getting it done. Free international shipping is something that should never be scoffed at, and the entire process is so painless; something that is great if you want to recommend it to someone who isn't exactly tech savvy.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_10_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5577_11_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.jpg

 

Before we wrap up, we have a shot of the custom case, on my Nexus 4, and in my hand. It feels great (apart from my small complaints about it), and it looks even better.

 

A Casetagram case for a smartphone is the perfect gift for a loved ones birthday or Christmas present, which is something I suspect the company sees a huge spike in sales for. Highly recommended, and it would be a perfect score if they fixed the issues that I personally didn't agree with.

 

TweakTown image 5/5/5577_123456_casetagram_nexus_4_custom_case_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below