TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,009 Reviews & Articles | 38,768 News Posts

Corsair Neutron GTX 19nm 2013 Edition SSD (120GB, 240GB and 480GB) Review - Corsair Neutron GTX 2013 Edition Drives

Corsair Neutron GTX 19nm 2013 Edition SSD (120GB, 240GB and 480GB) Review
Not long ago, we wrote about the Corsair Neutron base model with new 22nm SK Hynix flash. Today Chris walks us through the flagship GTX model that now features new 19nm Toggle flash from Toshiba.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 27, 2013 3:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Neutron GTX 2013 Edition Drives

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_01_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

Since this is more of a retake, we're just going to skim the surface of the Neutron GTX packaging and bundle.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_05_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

This has been Corsair's main SSD package design for a while now and it gives us quite a bit of information all around the package.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_06_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

The inner packaging looks good. The desktop adapter bracket is separated from the drive so nothing can get scratched during shipping. You get a set of mounting screws and a paper warranty manual.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_07_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

Diving straight into the case, from left to right, we have the 120GB, 240GB and 480GB. The two smaller capacity sizes use Samsung DRAM and the 480GB uses Micron. The DRAM capacity scales with the drive capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_08_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

The Link_A_Media Devices controller is the same for all three drives, LM87800AA.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_09_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

Most of the time when we run across Toshiba NAND it's BGA, but Corsair chose to use TSOP packaging on the Neutron GTX. This is 19nm Toggle Mode flash, the good stuff.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_10_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

All three capacity sizes use two-DRAM buffers for caching table data.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_11_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

We're starting to see more Samsung DRAM used in SSDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5569_12_corsair_neutron_gtx_19nm_2013_edition_ssd_120gb_240gb_and_480gb_review.jpg

 

All three capacity sizes have 16 NAND flash chips, eight on each side. This is important, especially on the 120GB model because of interleaving, a method of increasing performance.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases