TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,101 News Posts

MSI MPOWER MAX (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - BIOS

MSI MPOWER MAX (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review

We check out another Z87 motherboard; this time it's part of the MPOWER series from MSI. It comes loaded with lots of features and at a good price.

| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 27, 2013 4:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: MSI

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_20_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Heading into the BIOS we're dealing with the new CLICK BIOS 4. From first glance the overall layout is pretty similar to what we've seen in the past, but a bit like the new Gaming Series board we looked at recently, you can see the BIOS is color coded to match the board / series that it's on. There's also a few subtle additions that we'll look at in just a moment.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_21_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_22_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_23_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_24_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_25_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_26_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

All the standard options are here and if you're in the BIOS, you'll probably no doubt be heading into the OC section of the BIOS, which of course gives us all the overclocking options that we're used to seeing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_27_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_28_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_29_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Two new areas that stand out, though, include the new Hardware Monitor section that gives us a more detail look at what's going on in a number of areas. It's pretty nice and a good overall addition to the BIOS. The other area is the new board explorer section that tells us what is where. As you can see in the second picture our mouse cursor is over the CPU area and you can see across the bottom that it lets us know we're using an i7-4770K which is clocked at 3.5GHz.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases