TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

MSI MPOWER MAX (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - MSI MPOWER MAX Motherboard

MSI MPOWER MAX (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review
We check out another Z87 motherboard; this time it's part of the MPOWER series from MSI. It comes loaded with lots of features and at a good price.
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 27, 2013 4:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: MSI

MSI MPOWER MAX Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_12_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Getting onto the motherboard you can see we've got the same black and yellow color scheme that was used on the previous MPOWER board. Overall it looks fairly standard from here so let's move in a bit closer and see just what exactly we're dealing with.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_13_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving over to the PCIe expansion side of things you can see we've got four PCIe x1 slots and three PCIe x16 slots. If you're using just one card, the top slot will run at x16, if you're using two both will run at x8. If all three are used, the top two will be x8, while the bottom will operate at x4. Also you can see between the top two PCIe x16 slots we've got an mSATA port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_14_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the bottom of the board you can see we've got the normal connectors including USB 2.0, fan headers, front I/O header and on the far right you can see the debug LED reader. Across the bottom you can also see we've got a number of buttons including the OC GENIE button, power and reset along with direct OC buttons giving you the ability to overclock while the system is on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_15_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of eight SATA III ports. Six of those run off the Intel Z87 controller, while the other two run of the ASMedia ASM1061 controller. You can also see towards the top we've got a USB 3.0 header.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_16_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading over to the top of the board you can see four DIMM slots supporting up to 32GB of DDR3 memory ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking. Towards the top right of the board you can see the V-Check points that allow us to check the voltage points of a number of areas on the board. Moving down you can see the main 24-pin ATX power connector.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_17_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_18_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading around to the CPU area you can see we've got two 8-pin CPU connectors for people who require more power. Unless you're doing some serious overclocking with LN2, though, you'll more than likely find yourself just using one.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_19_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading into the I/O side of things you can see from the left we've got a pair of USB 2.0 connectors and a combo PS/2 port. Next to that we've got a clear CMOS button and a total of six USB 3.0 ports. Gigabit networking is provided by the Killer E2205 Gigabit LAN controller and video out options include dual HDMI and a single DisplayPort connector. We've also got an optical out port along with six Auxiliary ports which run off the ALC1150 codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases