TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

MSI MPOWER MAX (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review

MSI MPOWER MAX (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review
We check out another Z87 motherboard; this time it's part of the MPOWER series from MSI. It comes loaded with lots of features and at a good price.
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 27, 2013 4:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: MSI

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_02_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Another day goes by and we take the time to test out another motherboard based on the latest Z87 chipset form Intel. Today we're looking at an offering from MSI which is under the newer MPOWER name. This isn't the first time we've seen MSI use this name, as late last year we saw the company release the MSI Z77 MPOWER.

 

The new series brought with it a strong performing motherboard, along with a new look for the company. Impressed with what it was offering, we're looking forward to see what MSI has done with the name on the latest generation Intel chipset. Recently we've seen the company really try to show us something a little different and almost try to rebrand itself.

 

The new Gaming series brings a feeling of unity between the video card and motherboard segments of MSI as products under both categories are part of the one series. The MPOWER name helps differentiate itself by letting us know that they sit at the top of the pyramid for MSI. We'd really like to see the company bring something like the "Lightning" series of video cards under the same MPOWER name and really create some synergy between both product categories.

 

The new "POWER" series of boards from MSI currently consists of three Z87 based models. We've got the Z87 XPOWER, along with the Z87 MPOWER and MPOWER MAX, with us today looking at the latter.

 

 

Package

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_03_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_04_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we flip over the "M" you can see we get some information on the actual motherboard including the Military Class 4 components, which include Hi-c CAP, Dark CAP, SFC and OC PCB. Some of the other major highlights included Enhanced Power including a Dual 8-pin CPU Power Connectors, Enhanced Thermal via a new heatsink designed, Enhanced BIOS including Click BIOS 4 and OC Essentials which include Direct OC, Easy Button 3 and V-Check Points to name just a few of the features. We'll be checking some of these out a little more when we move onto the board itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_05_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_06_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we move onto the other side you can see we get our first look at the board. With only part of it being seen via the "M" cut out, though, we don't get the best look. Turning over to the back you can see we've got the main specifications at the bottom, a number of logos in regards to the features that are offered and again some of the main features are highlighted in the overclocking ability, stability and enhanced PWM cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_07_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving inside the box you can see we've got an absolute ton of paperwork covering many aspects of the board. You can also see we've got a couple of discs including drivers and utilities and one of the new "G" Series case stickers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_08_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving into the cable side of things you can see we've got six SATA cables along with an eSATA cable and a power cable. Across the bottom you can see the rear I/O panel and a single SLI bridge.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_09_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_10_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5568_11_msi_mpower_max_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Other extras include a pair of USB 3.0 and eSATA headers, Wi-Fi / BT card along with two antennas, V-Check point cables and a pair of EZ-Connectors to make hooking up everything that little bit easier. The bundle from the MSI MPOWER MAX really is quite large and one of the largest we've seen so far when it comes to the new Z87 platform.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases