TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,203 Reviews & Articles | 40,074 News Posts

Seagate NAS HDD (ST4000VN000) 4000GB HDD Review - Benchmarks - PCMark 8 Hard Disk Tests

Seagate NAS HDD (ST4000VN000) 4000GB HDD Review
Seagate takes purpose built NAS storage to the next level with an insane 4TB capacity. (NASDAQ:STX)
| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 19, 2013 7:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Seagate

PCMark 8 - Hard Disk Tests

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/pcmark8

 

 

PCMark 8 is the latest version in our popular series of PC benchmarking tools. Improving on previous releases, PCMark 8 includes battery life measurement tools and new tests using popular applications from Adobe and Microsoft. Whether you are looking for long battery life, or maximum power, PCMark 8 helps you find the devices that offer the perfect combination of efficiency and performance for your needs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_63_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

Launching our PCMark 8 testing we have the NAS HDD coming in with a total score of 2486, just behind the Desktop counterpart. Even with the single platter design of our WD Red 1TB, it just doesn't compete with the NAS HDD here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_64_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

In WoW the NAS HDD was capable of 114.1 seconds, very close to the Desktop HDD and a full 57 seconds quicker than the WD Red 1TB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_65_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

Battlefield 3 has the NAS HDD pulling ahead of the Desktop HDD .15, coming in at 305 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_66_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

Utilizing Photoshop under light use, the NAS HDD comes in at 195.7 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_67_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

A heavy use scenario brings all our drives closer together. In this test we found the NAS HDD slightly quicker than the Desktop HDD, with the Barracuda with its two platter design and 7200RPM spindle speed way out in front.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_68_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

The Excel application trace puts the NAS HDD in front of the Desktop HDD .15 by a very thin margin.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_69_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

The PowerPoint trace put the NAS HDD at 22.3 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5557_70_seagate_nas_hdd_st4000vn000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

The Word trace puts the Barracuda .14 at the top of the charts, followed very closely by the NAS HDD at 43.7 seconds.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases