TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,824 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

Seagate Desktop HDD .15 (ST4000DM000) 4000GB HDD Review - Benchmarks - PCMark 8 Hard Disk Tests

Seagate Desktop HDD .15 (ST4000DM000) 4000GB HDD Review
Seagate takes storage capacity to the max with the Desktop HDD .15, but does it have the performance for the digital age? (NASDAQ:STX)
| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 18, 2013 6:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Seagate

PCMark 8 - Hard Disk Tests

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/pcmark8

 

 

PCMark 8 is the latest version in our popular series of PC benchmarking tools. Improving on previous releases, PCMark 8 includes battery life measurement tools and new tests using popular applications from Adobe and Microsoft. Whether you are looking for long battery life, or maximum power, PCMark 8 helps you find the devices that offer the perfect combination of efficiency and performance for your needs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_63_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

Launching our PCMark 8 testing we have the Desktop HDD .15 coming in with a total score of 2503. Leading the pack is the 2TB Barracuda with 2715.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_64_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

In WoW we find the Desktop .15 miles ahead of any WD drive we have tested, coming in at 112.2 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_65_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

Battlefield 3 has the Barracuda leading the charts, but the Desktop HDD .15 stays close behind at 309 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_66_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

Utilizing Photoshop under light use, the .15 comes in at 191.8 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_67_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

A heavy use scenario tightens up our drives on the chart, with just 16 seconds separating the Desktop HDD .15 from the previous Barracuda .14.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_68_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

The Excel application trace puts both Seagate drives at the top of our charts. We find the Desktop HDD .15 at 21.7 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_69_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

PowerPoint again has the Desktop HDD .15 at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5556_70_seagate_desktop_hdd_15_st4000dm000_4000gb_hdd_review.png

 

The Word trace puts the Barracuda .14 at the top of the charts, followed very closely by the Desktop HDD .15 at 44.5 seconds.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases