TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,099 Reviews & Articles | 39,136 News Posts

Lexar JumpDrive P10 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Lexar JumpDrive P10 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review
Lexar turns up the heat on the USB 3.0 flash drive market with the P10 pen drive. We have it in house for testing. (NASDAQ:MU)
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Jul 2, 2013 5:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Lexar

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_99_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Shortly after CES 2013 concluded, I contacted Lexar in regards to sampling their latest flash drive, the P10. At that time they were still working a few kinks out of the mechanical design, but here today the drive is ready and we have the 64GB in for testing.

 

The P10 carries on from where the JumpDrive Triton left off. Where the Triton used an Innostor controller paired with SLC NAND flash, the JumpDrive P10 uses MLC NAND and a much faster controller that we will look at shortly. Marketing specifications for the P10 offer us 265MB/s read and 245MB/s write, if this comes to fruition then this could very well be the quickest flash drive we have tested to date.

 

Compatibility of the P10 follows the Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 and Mac OS X standard. Of course being a top-tier product from Lexar, it does have a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_02_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

At first glance you may think you have seen this drive before. Of course then I would tell you have, because the P10 shares the same design as the Triton we reviewed previously.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_03_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The P10, like the Triton uses a sliding design. This along with its metal shell should keep the drive protected during travel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_04_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Sliding the USB 3.0 connection out we find the blue coloring that is standard for drive compatible with the latest SuperSpeed USB 3.0 specification.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_05_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Here I have put the Triton we reviewed a few months back (32GB), next to the latest from Lexar; the P10 (64GB).

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_06_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Opening up the drive we found the NAND packaged in a 2 x 32GB configuration. Each of the modules are Micron MLC.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_07_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The controller used in the P10 comes from Etron Technology. Labelled EV266LH, we were unable to find any information on it, but it does appear to have more channels than the EV266H, which we found in the Corsair Survivor Stealth.

 

One of the lesser known features of running Microsoft's new operating system Windows 8 is the native capability of USB Attached SCSI or UASP. Benchmarking flash drives, we utilize ATTO Disk Benchmark followed by Crystal Disk Mark. Our last bench incorporates DiskBench and our custom set of real-world data, and is by far the most important comparison when looking for a flash drive for everyday use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_20_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Lexar JumpDrive P10 is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 59.6GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_21_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Running the P10 through our ATTO Disk Benchmark, we found the drive to peak at 244MB/s read and 226MB/s write. This falls just short of marketing specifications of 265/245.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_22_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

In CDM, we found the P10 reaching 242MB/s in sequential read and 243MB/s in seq write.4K read with a QD of 32 was quite impressive as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_23_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Taking a look at the chart above, you will find the Lexar P10 has claimed the performance crown in our DiskBench testing. We were able to transfer our set of photos at 148MB/s, followed by video and ISO at 178MB/s and 215MB/s, respectively.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_24_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

To compute the number seen above which I call the performance index, I take the average MB/s from our three DiskBench tests and divide it by the price per GB. All pricing information is taken from Newegg at the time of writing.

 

In terms of price vs. performance, you will find the JumpDrive P10 at the top of the list here as well, trailing the Supersonic Magnum from Patriot and Extreme from SanDisk.

 

Lexar has done quite well with the JumpDrive P10, successfully carrying on where the Triton left off. Looking back the only thing we were missing when we reviewed the Triton was performance and the P10 really excels in this area. So then, is this the perfect flash drive?

 

Aesthetically I thought Lexar could have changed the design, even changing the plastics would help differ this drive from the Triton, but as it sits, I could see where there will be some confusion. I do, however, enjoy the design - the aluminium cradle that holds all the plastics is quite thick and durable, the plastics feel strong and the slide mechanism has very little play, if any at all.

 

Performance, as we have spoken of many times, is excellent. Honestly, 245MB/s for a flash drive is superb, when only a handful of drives are truly capable of such speeds.

 

Pricing at this time for the 64GB capacity is set at $159.99 putting this drive in the $2 per GB arena, but as you saw in our chart above, the performance is enough to make this drive a must have in my book.

 

TweakTown image 5/5/5549_1234_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/5/5549_100_lexar_jumpdrive_p10_64gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases