TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,667 Reviews & Articles | 36,025 News Posts

Stinky Gaming Footboard Foot Controller Review - Stinky Gaming Footboard

Stinky Gaming Footboard Foot Controller Review

In the mood for an unusual peripheral device? Then we suggest you have a look at the new Stinky Gaming Footboard.

| Game Controllers in Peripherals | Posted: Jun 24, 2013 2:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Stinky

Stinky Gaming Footboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_02_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Since I got my sample so early in the development there wasn't any retail packaging ready. What I received inside of a padded envelope was the Footboard, some paperwork and some extra hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_03_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

The top section of the Footboard is mostly plastic, but this aluminum plate with the company name and LED lights is bolted all the way through so you don't have to worry about screws stripping or the plate coming lose. Dimensionally what you are seeing is 11 inches wide and 14.5 inches long, and it stands one and a half inches tall.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_04_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Under the Footboard you get some idea of what is going on with the spring system with the product sicker running the length of the board. You can also see the rubber feet and the connection area at the top left in this image.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_05_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Stinky gives the Footboard the model number of SGFB-101201, says it is a Gaming Footboard, and shows it draws 5V of power at 100mA. This device has yet to be patented, it is made in China, and they don't want you removing this large sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_06_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

The rubber feet aren't just taped to the bottom of the board where they would come lose and fall off easy. Stinky took the extra step to use these feet that require the rounded head to be inside of the footboard grabbing it and holding it in place even with a lot of pressure on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_07_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

In the space that allows for a couple of fingers to fit in there, there is the mini-USB connection for the included cable, and a power LED that glows red when the device is connected to a PC.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_08_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Skipping ahead, I grabbed the cable and plugged the mini-USB end into the Footboard, while the other end of it is obviously connected to the PC now. As you can see, the power LED is now glowing red as I said it would.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5542_09_stinky_gaming_footboard_foot_controller_review.jpg

 

Without any drivers installed on the computer, when the Footboard is first connected, both of the red LEDs on top of the board stayed illuminated. It wasn't until I added the software and updated the firmware that I saw the lights acting differently.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below