TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

Fractal Design Newton R3 800-Watt 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Fractal Design Newton R3 800-Watt 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review
Fractal Design's Newton R3 series promises plenty in both looks and performance. Find out just how well it does with our review of the 800W model.
| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 23, 2013 5:38 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Fractal Design

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_10_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

This is the first time we've seen a plastic cover over the foam. It is somewhat of a nice touch, however the user manual is glued to it, and it's a pain to remove.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_11_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Lifting the top foam off, we find that everything is very well protected and isn't crammed in the box at all.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_12_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top gives us a look at the semi-gloss black finished used on the Newton R3 800W as well as the Fractal Design logo stamped in the housing for added aesthetics.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_13_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The side of the power supply houses the I/O specification label.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_14_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side features the Fractal Design logo, which has nice contrast with the semi-gloss black finish.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_15_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

There isn't anything too special going on towards the back of the unit. We find the standard honeycomb mesh grill with AC input and on/off rocker switch present. This view does give us a good look at the beveled corners of the power supply, which adds a subtle bit of finesse to the Newton R3.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_16_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Rotating towards the front we can see that all of the modular connections are clearly labeled. There is also some additional venting above the modular connections.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_17_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Normally I don't just take a picture of the cable bag, but this one really caught my eye. It isn't just your standard bag that you stuff everything into.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_18_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

I felt like a locksmith unrolling his tool bag as I unrolled the cable bag. All cables are held in their own individual pocket and labeled for quick reference and access. I would assume the extra pocket is used for a higher wattage unit like the Newton R3 1000W and has another cable in it such as pair of PCI-E cables.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_27_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

After pulling them all from the pockets, we can see that all of the modular cables are of the flat ribbon variety.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5540_28_fractal_design_newton_r3_800_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Aside from the mandatory user manual, AC input cord and mounting screws, there are a few additions. There are five zip ties and two reusable Velcro cable ties included for cable management. There is also a card that lets you know that the fan doesn't turn on until it is necessary and not to freak out when it doesn't spin upon turning the unit on.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases