TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,091 Reviews & Articles | 39,114 News Posts

Lian Li PC-Q27 Black Mini-ITX Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Lian Li PC-Q27 Black Mini-ITX Chassis Review
If you like cases that are tiny and compact in design, you are going to want to check out the sleek new PC-Q27 Mini-ITX chassis from Lian Li.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 13, 2013 7:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Lian Li

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_28_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just for example purposes, I went ahead and threw in an SSD so you can see how they go into the front panel of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_29_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Same thing with a 3.5" drive. One thing I did notice is that with my specific PSU, powering these drives is near impossible due to the way the wires are clipped into the SATA power plugs; something to ponder when buying this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_30_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Eventually a power supply will be blocking all of this, so I thought once the board and HDD was installed where I wanted them, I figured it was a great time to give you an idea of the amount of room, or lack thereof, inside of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_31_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

If you plan to use a 180mm PSU like I am about to, let me help you a bit. Go modular, and pre-wire everything in the chassis and have the wiring ready on the right side. This way when you slide in the PSU, halfway in you can make all the connections and then finish mounting the PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_32_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now you can obviously see what I was getting at. With the PSU this long, wiring the right side with it mounted is near impossible. You can also see that I have the fan facing the motherboard to draw the only airflow through the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_33_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear I/O opening is quite snug, and it did take me a bit of time to get that locked into place, but the PSU slid right into place. It's a good thing the motherboard offers video too, because all I own are dual slot video cards, and they won't work with only one slot on offer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_34_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back of the motherboard, you can see now why wiring here is impossible. While you may have room enough behind the board to hide something, it's pretty much just on the left since the other three sides are blocked off.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_35_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

At that point all I had left to do was to slide the side panels back onto the chassis, and if for nothing else than to not lose the screws, I recommend using them in the chassis. This will also help keep you from accidentally removing the panels when trying to lift or move the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5538_36_lian_li_pc_q27_black_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

When the system is powered up, there is very little noise to be heard. I had to get really close to the chassis to even hear the hum of the PSU fan. When the PC-Q27 is powered, the power switch illuminates blue, as you can see above. When the HDD is being accessed, this blue light will flicker red.

 

It's quite the sexy little beast, if you ask me.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases