TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,225 News Posts

Intel DC S3500 480GB Enterprise SSD Review - 8K Random Read/Write

Intel DC S3500 480GB Enterprise SSD Review
Intel launches the DC S3500 Enterprise SSD for read-centric applications and light mixed workloads with enterprise-class features at rock bottom pricing. The DC S3500 targets the rapidly growing mainstream SSD market, follow us as we review it. (NASDAQ:INTC)
| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Jun 11, 2013 7:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Intel

8K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_21_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_22_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

8K random read and write speed is a metric that is not tested for consumer use, but for enterprise environments this is an important aspect of performance. With several different workloads relying heavily upon 8K performance, we include this as a standard with each evaluation. Many of our Server Emulations below will also test 8K performance with various mixed read/write workloads.

 

The average 8K random read speed of the Intel DC S3500 comes in at 39,413 IOPS at QD256, placing it between the Seagate 600 Pro and the Samsung SM843.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_23_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The average 8K random write speed of the DC S3500 is 1,626 IOPS at QD256. The Intel again matches the SM843 on random write performance, but also provides a very tight performance range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_24_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 falls quickly into the lower performance range during the test period.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_25_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 again exhibits a very tight latency range with 50.1% of I/O's falling into the 40-60ms range, and 48.5% falling into the 20-40ms range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_26_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Power consumption for the Intel DC S3500 averages 3.87 Watts during heavy write activity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_27_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The DC S3700 averages 1,626 IOPS per Watt during the preconditioning period. It is important to note that the results are with heavy write activity and SSDs with faster write speeds benefit tremendously. Our mixed read/write workloads will give us a clearer view of the IOPS per Watt performance in the DC S3500's intended workloads.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases