TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,198 Reviews & Articles | 40,006 News Posts

Intel Core i7 4770K (Haswell 4th Gen) CPU and Z87 Express Chipset Review - Haswell Processors

Intel Core i7 4770K (Haswell 4th Gen) CPU and Z87 Express Chipset Review
Like any Intel launch, Haswell is the world's worst kept secret. But today it all becomes official and we can start to talk about it in detail. (NASDAQ:INTC)
| Intel CPUs in CPUs, Chipsets & SoCs | Posted: Jun 1, 2013 12:43 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Intel

Haswell Processors

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5522_03_intel_core_i7_4770k_haswell_4th_gen_cpu_and_z87_express_chipset_review.jpg

 

The launch today is essentially split into three sections with TweakTown placing a large focus on just two of them. The first is the new line up of mobile processors, which are separated into H, M, U and Y with the latter two being designed for ultrabooks, which can be seen above. This today won't be our focus, instead we'll be concentrating on the last two areas.

 

As you can see above, the latter two areas are of course the desktop processors, which is exactly what we'll be covering on this page and the last item is the new Intel 8 Series chipset which we'll be looking at on the following page, again, though, the main focus will be the desktop version.

 

At launch the new line up of processors from Intel are essentially split into two key areas. The first is the i7 line up, while the other is the lower-end and cheaper i5 line up. Having a look below you can see not only all the models, but the main features that separate them all.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5522_08_intel_core_i7_4770k_haswell_4th_gen_cpu_and_z87_express_chipset_review.png

 

Looking across the CPUs here the first thing that really stands out is the fact that as you'd expect the "K" Series based i7 4770 offers an unlocked multiplier. Anyone who follows overclocking in the slightest knows that this is a feature that you want. The i7 4770K and 4770 are almost identical outside of the unlocked cores. Areas that are the same across the whole i7 line up include the four cores with Hyper Threading pushing that to eight and 1333 / 1600MHz DDR official memory support - of course, overclocking yields much higher speeds. All but the i7 4770R use the 4600 HD Graphics with a max Dynamic Frequency of 1200MHz outside of the 4770K which offers a slightly higher 1250MHz. As for clock speeds you can see they vary from 2GHz to 3.5GHz for base frequency and 3GHz to 3.9GHz for Max Turbo frequency.

 

I think finally the last few things we need to cover with the i7 line up is the pricing which starts from $303 and goes up to $339 for the "K" Series 4770. Max TDP depending on the model caries from quite a low 35w to a higher 84w, and outside of the "BGA" based i7 4770R, all processors are based on the LGA 1150 package, which also carries over to the i5 line.

 

Checking out the i5 line of processors you can see we've again got a "K" series based processor in the i5 4670k which brings with it that unlocked multiplier that overclockers need. Some of the similarities include 1333 / 1600Mhz DDR memory support, Intel 4600 series HD graphics, 1150MHz - 1200MHz Max Dynamic frequency on the said graphics and a Max TDP rating ranging from 35w - 84w.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5522_09_intel_core_i7_4770k_haswell_4th_gen_cpu_and_z87_express_chipset_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5522_10_intel_core_i7_4770k_haswell_4th_gen_cpu_and_z87_express_chipset_review.png

 

Looking above you can see that clock rates range from 2.3GHz to 3.4GHz for the CPU Base frequency and 3.3GHz to 3.5GHz for the Max Turbo frequency. Lack of Hyper Threading is one of the main differences when it comes to comparing the i5 and i7. All but one i5 processors have four cores and no Hyper Threading. You can see that the i5 4570T, though, offers only two cores and four threads. Finally finishing off with the price, you can see we're starting $192 and go to $242 for the unlocked i5 4670K.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5522_03_intel_core_i7_4770k_haswell_4th_gen_cpu_and_z87_express_chipset_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5522_04_intel_core_i7_4770k_haswell_4th_gen_cpu_and_z87_express_chipset_review.jpg

 

For the most part the most interesting processors to TweakTown readers will be the two "K" series processors as they offer that unlocked multiplier giving us the best overclocking advantage around. We're dealing with Intel's top Haswell CPU today, the i7 4770K.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5522_05_intel_core_i7_4770k_haswell_4th_gen_cpu_and_z87_express_chipset_review.jpg

 

Finally the last thing we want to cover is the package of the new processor. Above you can see the two box designs that will be used. The thinner left one will be for the CPUs that don't offer a fan, while the fatter right one will include the fan.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more CPUs, Chipsets & SoCs content at our CPUs, Chipsets & SoCs reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases