TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

Scythe Ashura CPU Cooler Review - Accessories and Documentation

Scythe Ashura CPU Cooler Review
Scythe delivers the Ashura, a user-friendly and compact heatsink that doesn't sacrifice performance.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 7, 2013 5:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Scythe

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_17_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here we have all of the motherboard brackets for the top of the motherboard. On the outsides you have the black AMD top brackets, then the pair of Intel brackets inside of those. Right in the middle you have the cross bar to mount the cooler to the side brackets we just covered.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_18_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The majority of the hardware for mounting to go with the brackets is what we have here. There are the LGA2011 screws and the cross bar screws on the left. A wrench in the middle to help secure the cross bar bolts, and on the right you have the universal screws and the four small screws to secure the brackets to the top of the knurled screws at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_19_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

You are also shipped a small bag of thermal paste, four washers to isolated the knurled screws from the motherboard, and a foam pad with 3M adhesive on it for LGA775 spacing of the back plate.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_20_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Instead of the clear plastic spacers we saw with the last back plate, this new black back plate has black rubber on the ends to isolate it from the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_21_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

You are also shipped this 4-pin powered Glide Stream PWM fan to cool the tower. With the specifications we discussed about this fan, I have no doubt it should have what it takes for reasonable results in our testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_22_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Along with a folded up instruction manual, Scythe also ships he Ashura with four wire fan mounts. This way if you do want the second fan, you don't have to ask for more or rig something up, it's all there when you get the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_23_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

On the front of the instruction guide you are given a full list with images of the parts that should have been included in the box. At the bottom of the page they show that you need to remove the film from the base before use, and shows how the fan flows so that you don't put it on backwards.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_24_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

They break down the installations into the various sockets so you don't get confused. Here we are shown the LGA2011 mounting that does not use the back plate, and you need to use the shorter set of knurled screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_25_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

All of the other Intel sockets are now being shown. The knurled screws are now the longer set, you do need the back plate, and be sure to use the spacer if you are mounting this to an LGA775 motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5520_26_scythe_ashura_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

For AMD you use the stock back plate, the long knurled screws, and of course you are now switching the top brackets as well.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases