TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,104 News Posts

Genius X-G510 Optical Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the X-G510

Genius X-G510 Optical Gaming Mouse Review

Genius releases an ambidextrous mouse with a bit of blue "flash". Let's have a look the new X-G510 optical gaming mouse and see what it's all about.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jun 7, 2013 5:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Genius

Inside the X-G510

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_15_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Three screws hidden under the feet will allow you to split the mouse into its two halves. On the left is the top piece that has a textured clear inner lining to help spread the LED glow. On the right are the main controllers and switches of the X-G510 before we get up close and see just what is soldered on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_16_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Due to the forward placement of the scroll wheel, to get the side buttons to work, Genius devised a paddle system to hit the centrally located switches on the other half of the mouse. The DPI button is just the clear button at the moment, and you will soon see the switch is raised to meet it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_17_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right and left larger buttons are backed with these Omron D2FC-F-7N switches that are rated for 8 million clicks of a lifespan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_18_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The paddles on the top half rest on top of the pair of springs to make them stay out, as they are depressed, the springs give way to allow the paddles to activate the switch. The third tower is for that DPI button I was talking about earlier. The LED to the left of it is the one that will flash as you press the DPI button to denote the speed of your choice.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_19_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

At the back of the mouse there is a large rubber "finger" surrounding a large LED. This is to provide the glow to the lightning design on the outside of the mouse. As added protection, the sensor and resistors are covered with tape so nothing will short out.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_20_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

With the tape out of the way and the tip removed from the LED, you can now see clearly the Avago ADNS3050 optical sensor. I covered what this is capable of, but to refresh, it can go to 2000DPI, sense up to 60 inches per second, and is able to move with 20g's of acceleration.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_21_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The Weltrend controller is no slouch, either. This 8-bit Turbo 8052 processor operates at 24MHz, includes 16Kbyte of flash ROM and 512 bytes of SRAM. This little chip has everything you need to be able to handle what the X-G510 has to offer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5519_22_genius_x_g510_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Once we got things back together, I went ahead and plugged it in without the drivers. Right away the blue LED comes to life in a slow breathing pulsation of the LED. When you add in the software, you can turn this off, change the speed of the breathing mode or make the LED stay on all the time.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases