TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,494 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

WORLD EXCLUSIVE - Toshiba PX02SM Series 12Gb/s Enterprise SSD Review - 128K Sequential Read/Write

WORLD EXCLUSIVE - Toshiba PX02SM Series 12Gb/s Enterprise SSD Review
The Toshiba PX02SM series of SSDs leverages the enhanced speed of dual port 12Gb/s SAS, the Toshiba/Marvell controller and 24nm eMLC NAND to provide bleeding edge performance. (TYO:6502)
| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: May 30, 2013 9:55 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Toshiba

128K Sequential Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5517_31_world_exclusive_toshiba_px02sm_series_12gb_s_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5517_32_world_exclusive_toshiba_px02sm_series_12gb_s_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The 128K sequential speeds reflect the maximum sequential throughput of the SSD using a realistic file size encountered in an enterprise scenario.

 

The Toshiba PX02SMF080 averages 823MB/s at QD256 in comparison to the Optimus with 586MB/s at QD256. It is important to note that the Toshiba PX02SMF080 is rated for 900MB/s of sequential read speed. We reached these speeds in FOB conditions, but our logging of read performance is conducted after our write testing is completed to assure steady state performance. During this period, we saw results as high as 843MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5517_33_world_exclusive_toshiba_px02sm_series_12gb_s_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Toshiba exhibits 128K write performance at an average of 371MB/s, 39MB/s shy of its rated speed of 400 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5517_34_world_exclusive_toshiba_px02sm_series_12gb_s_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Toshiba PX02SMF080 has a wide range of variability in our mixed read/write workload testing, but manages to average higher speeds than the Optimus until we get into the 80-100% write workloads.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5517_35_world_exclusive_toshiba_px02sm_series_12gb_s_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Toshiba experiences an odd distribution of latency with 128K access that might point out a bimodal performance aspect. The Toshiba provides 444,137 I/Os (49.99%) at 100-200ms, and 224,746 I/Os (25.3%) at 1-2ms, with latency ranging from .2-.4ms to 10-20ms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5517_36_world_exclusive_toshiba_px02sm_series_12gb_s_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Toshiba PX02SMF080 continues its miserly power consumption with an average of 5.97 Watts during sequential write testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5517_37_world_exclusive_toshiba_px02sm_series_12gb_s_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Toshiba provides 61 write MB/s per Watt.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases