TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,060 Reviews & Articles | 38,954 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

SanDisk Extreme II 240GB SSD Review - SanDisk Extreme II 240GB

SanDisk Extreme II 240GB SSD Review
The 256GB capacity class is the sweet spot for enthusiasts. This size maximizes the price, capacity and performance ratio. SanDisk has high hopes for Extreme II, but in order to sell these drives in big numbers, it has to do well here. (NASDAQ:SNDK)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 3, 2013 4:30 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: SanDisk

SanDisk Extreme II 240GB

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_06_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

SanDisk delivered three drives, one of each capacity size, but we didn't receive the retail package to show today. We don't expect much of a change from the Ultra Plus or original Extreme. This is a 7mm z-height product with a metal base and a plastic top cover.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_07_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The capacity size, model and serial number are all located on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_08_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm z-height, 2.5" form factor uses the same mounting points on the bottom and sides as traditional notebook drives that are 9.5mm tall.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_09_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are also the same as standard notebook drives. The Extreme II will fit in your notebook and many ultrabooks without issue. Desktop users can purchase the Desktop Replacement Kit and receive a desktop adapter bracket that puts the drive in a standard 3.5" HDD bay.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_10_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first real shot of the SanDisk Extreme II. Unlike the 120GB model, the 240GB and 480GB populate all eight of the flash pads. Each NAND chip, the controller and the DRAM module all get a thermal pad to help transfer heat to the 7mm metal housing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_11_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Extreme II has many open pads on the back for large surface mount capacitors. These aren't used on Extreme II so we can't help but wonder what other products SanDisk has cooking in the lab with this PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_12_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

As we mentioned in the introduction, the Extreme II uses the Marvell 88SS9187 controller. This is an 8-channel design, the same used Plextor's M5 Pro and M5 Xtreme as well as Crucial's M500. It's a solid controller known for high performance when paired with quality NAND and well written firmware.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_13_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 240GB size is the only model of the three we have on hand to use Hynix DRAM. The 120GB and 480GB both use Samsung DRAM. The Hynix part number refers to a DDR3 DRAM module with 2GB capacity size, double that of the 120GB Extreme II size.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5513_14_sandisk_extreme_ii_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

In the 120GB Extreme II review we talked about the SanDisk NAND quite a bit. In the 256GB class size, the flash has more interleaving, so SanDisk's architecture advantage shouldn't stand out as much. Let's dive right in and see how that theory works out.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases