TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,077 Reviews & Articles | 39,026 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

SanDisk Extreme II 120GB SSD Review - SanDisk Extreme II 120GB

SanDisk Extreme II 120GB SSD Review
We're starting our SanDisk Extreme II review coverage with the 120GB capacity size. Later today we'll publish reviews of the 240GB and 480GB, but the 120GB size has more talking points and shows why SanDisk now has the most advanced NAND on the market today. (NASDAQ:SNDK)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 3, 2013 3:30 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: SanDisk

SanDisk Extreme II 120GB

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_06_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

SanDisk delivered three drives, one of each capacity size, but we didn't receive the retail package to show today. We don't expect much of a change from the Ultra Plus or original Extreme. This is a 7mm z-height product with a metal base and a plastic top cover.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_07_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The capacity size, model and serial number are all located on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_08_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm z-height, 2.5" form factor uses the same mounting points on the bottom and sides as traditional notebook drives that are 9.5mm tall.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_09_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are also the same as standard notebook drives. The Extreme II will fit in your notebook and many ultrabooks without issue. Desktop users can purchase the Desktop Replacement Kit and receive a desktop adapter bracket that puts the drive in a standard 3.5" HDD bay.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_10_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first real shot of the SanDisk Extreme II. The 120GB is the only drive with just four NAND flash chips. The higher density in each chips is part of the reason why we're seeing 120GB performance drop off so much with many of the SSD's we've tested lately. Without lanes to more chips, interleaving is reduced. We'll talk more about this in the Final Thoughts and how SanDisk worked around this issue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_11_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Although Extreme II doesn't use the pads on the back of the PCB for host power fail protection, I wouldn't be surprised to see this product tip up at some point in time with more enterprise features. The Cxxx letter / number designation means capacitor and Extreme II could use a large number of capacitors if SanDisk wanted to enable the feature. It's common to see consumer SSD's share the same PCB with enterprise parts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_12_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

As we mentioned in the introduction, the Extreme II uses the Marvell 88SS9187 controller. This is an 8-channel design, the same used Plextor's M5 Pro and M5 Xtreme as well as Crucial's M500.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_13_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Buffering data is a Samsung 1GB DDR3 DRAM chip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5511_14_sandisk_extreme_ii_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The star of the show, as you will soon see.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases