TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,762 News Posts

MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming Series (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming Motherboard

MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming Series (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review
As we prepare for the launch of Haswell, we quickly move through a couple of Z77 boards. Today we're spending time with the Z77A-GD65 Gaming Series from MSI.
| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: May 24, 2013 7:24 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: MSI

MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_07_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

We see a typical black and red color scheme that tends to be quite popular from companies when it comes to releasing higher-end motherboards. While it does show up often these days, we can't deny the simple fact that it's a great color combination and the red highlights look great, especially the dragon towards the bottom right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_08_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

You can see we've got four PCIe x1 slots and three PCIe x16 slots which run in an x16 / x8 / x4 configuration. In the event you're using SLI, the setup will be x8 / x8. Of course this is very standard when it comes to Z77 motherboards, due to the PCIe lane limitation.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_09_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across the bottom of the motherboard we've got a fairly standard setup with a number of headers being seen including the normal array of USB 2.0, 1394 Firewire and fan headers. Towards the right hand side between the bottom most PCIe x16 slot, you can see we've got an LED debug reader and just to the right of that we've got a switch that lets us move between the two BIOSs that are installed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_10_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of eight SATA ports on offer here. The far right two are SATA III and run off the Intel Z77 chipset, while SATA 3_4 are SATA II running off the same chipset. SATA 5_6 are also SATA II, but run off the ASM 1061 chipset, while the last two SATA7_8 ports run off the same chipset, but are SATA III. SATA1_2 should be your main preference for your storage.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_11_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving to the top half of the motherboard you can see four DIMM slots supporting up to 32GB of DDR3 at speeds ranging from 1600MHz DDR to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking. Here you can also see the main 24-pin ATX power connector, V-Check points, and a couple of buttons including power, reset and the auto overclocking OC Genie II one.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_12_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_13_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the other side you can see the 8-pin CPU power connector tucked away in the normal position, while moving back gives us a look at the main CPU socket area and the heatsink setup. It's not too expansive, but big enough that it should perform well. The quality is also excellent and the color combination as we mentioned before looks great.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5500_14_msi_z77a_gd65_gaming_series_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finishing up our look at the motherboard you can see we've got a combo PS/2 port and four USB 2.0 ports. Hidden in the corner you can see we've got a clear CMOS button along with an optical, coaxial and six auxiliary audio connectors, which all run off the Realtek ALC898. Video out comes from HDMI, VGA and DVI-D, while two USB 3.0 ports are offered and a Gigabit networking port that is powered by the Killer E2205 chip.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases