TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,085 News Posts

HGST Travelstar 7K1000 1TB 2.5" Hard Drive Review - HGST Travelstar 7K1000

HGST Travelstar 7K1000 1TB 2.5

Class leading shock protection ushers in the new generation of mobile hard drives from HGST. Today we're reviewing the Travelstar 7K1000 1TB model. (NASDAQ:WDC)

| HDDs in Storage | Posted: May 23, 2013 11:11 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: HGST

HGST Travelstar 7K1000

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5499_03_hgst_travelstar_7k1000_1tb_2_5_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

We received our Travelstar review sample with full retail kit. The front of the box shows a sample image of the drive, with the capacity listed across the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5499_04_hgst_travelstar_7k1000_1tb_2_5_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

The retail kit included the drive, manual and a coupon for 3GB of free cloud backup from Touro.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5499_05_hgst_travelstar_7k1000_1tb_2_5_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

Looking over our drive, we find the capacity listed to the left center of the drive with power requirements under. Further down we find the SATA 6Gb/s capability listed, along with the drive's shipping firmware revision of 3B0.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5499_06_hgst_travelstar_7k1000_1tb_2_5_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive has an ocean green PCB, with no surface mount components exposed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5499_07_hgst_travelstar_7k1000_1tb_2_5_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

The drives SATA and power connections correctly placed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5499_08_hgst_travelstar_7k1000_1tb_2_5_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

To check the Z-Height of the drive, I setup my Starrett 799. At the drives thickest point it measured in at 9.13mm. This means that this drive will fit in most notebooks, but not your new Ultrabook, which calls for a 7mm Z-Height.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5499_09_hgst_travelstar_7k1000_1tb_2_5_hard_drive_review.jpg

 

Putting the drive on our AWS BT-201 scale we find the drive weighing in just over 112 grams.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases