TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,436 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

LaCie CloudBox 1TB Personal NAS Review

LaCie CloudBox 1TB Personal NAS Review
The CloudBox product from LaCie takes Personal NAS storage to the next level and we have it in our lab for testing. (NASDAQ:STX)
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: May 27, 2013 6:41 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: LaCie

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_99_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

LaCie, working with world renowned designers, has created some of the most visually appealing storage solutions since starting the business in 1992. We have seen amazing works of art come from LaCie collaborating with designers such as Ziba, Porsche, Philippe Starck and the fantastic Scottish designer behind the product we have today, Neil Poulton.

 

The LaCie CloudBox is a single bay NAS device that takes aim at removing the headaches of setting up traditional appliances, with its one plug, one click setup. The device is also "Cloud" accessible, that is to say you can access your content from anywhere in the world with your Mac/PC or iOS device.

 

The CloudBox is available in 1TB through 4TB capacities and is equipped with a single Gigabit LAN connection. Features of the device include file server access through Samba and Apple Filing Protocol among others and even access to a download manager that supports BitTorrent. The CloudBox also has built-in Time Machine and Windows Backup functionality with a one year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_02_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.jpg

 

The packaging depicts a family setting where the CloudBox is accessible by a multitude of devices. We find LaCie's "1 Plug, 1 Click" simple install listed along the bottom and its capacity in bold font at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_03_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging goes into finer detail about the CloudBox and its capabilities.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_04_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.jpg

 

Included in the packaging was the power adapter and CAT6 Ethernet cable. This is the first I have seen a NAS device come with the higher grade cabling, as most manufacturers include CAT5 or CAT5e.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_06_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.jpg

 

On the side of the CloudBox we found a simple layout with just the power button and power connection next to each other. On the right side the Gigabit LAN port and reset button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_07_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the device has a mesh design to allow air to circulate through the device. At the bottom there is a sticker that acts as a legend for the LED indicator.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_08_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.jpg

 

Internally, LaCie uses the Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 hard disk drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_09_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.jpg

 

The PCB of the CloudBox utilizes the Marvell 88F6702 SoC operating at 1GHz. We also found 256MB of DRAM by Hynix.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_10_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

The "finder" application called LaCie Network Assistant allowed for quick setup of our CloudBox.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_11_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

In the volume tab the finder allows you to mount the drive, giving you a drive letter for easy access.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_12_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

The configuration tab allows you to setup a static IP for the CloudBox or DHCP for easier setup. There is the option to update the NAS as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_13_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

Connecting to the dashboard through our browser was as simple as typing in the IP address for the CloudBox. We were then presented with a user name and password authentication screen.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_14_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

The landing page for the CloudBox is elegant and at the same time laid out so that everything is easily accessible. The right the dashboard shows us how many users are logged on, while at the bottom we see the eco management.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_15_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

The general settings tab allows you to configure time settings along with FTP, SFTP and multimedia server settings.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_16_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

In the network tab you can configure the network address to use DHCP or static IP's. To the right there is the option to enable remote access.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_17_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

The download machine included with the CloudBox is one feature that allows this NAS device to stand out among the crowd, as we don't normally see this functionality on personal NAS devices.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_18_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

The backup tab allows you to schedule jobs for both Macintosh and Windows operating systems.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_19_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

Here we have the eco management tab. From here we can allow the internal drive and NAS to enter deep sleep mode, you can also adjust the time after which the drive will shut down.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_20_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

The drive information tab, gives you an indication of how much storage you have used. Our 1TB model comes with a formatted capacity of 987GB, but with the NAS OS and firmware, we have a useable 919GB of space.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_21_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

In the support section you can enable or disable the auto update function to your preference. We are using the latest firmware (2.6.8.2) for our review.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_23_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

 

Mounting our CloudBox as a network drive we proceeded to run ATTO disk benchmark on it. Marketing specifications depict this drive is capable of 60MB/s read and write. We found the drive capable of 76MB/s read and 45MB/s write.

 

The CloudBox from LaCie is a rather unique device that offers plenty of design characteristic and all of this reflects on the commitment LaCie demands from the designers they collaborate with, and in the case of the CloudBox, Neil Poulton.

 

Performance of the CloudBox was superb for a single bay NAS device, and the added functionality of the download machine brings features of high-end NAS appliances to the average consumer. The only drawback I found, and it could be a turn off for a lot of users, is the absence of an app for Android or Windows mobile platforms. Now you can still access your files from any web browser, but I feel an app would definitely make things more user-friendly for non-iOS users.

 

Availability of the CloudBox should allow for easy access to the 1TB, 2TB and 3TB model, however I was unable to find the 4TB model at a reputable location. Pricing of the 1TB model we reviewed here today is set at $119.99, which is quite competitive with products such as the WD MyBook Live.

 

TweakTown image 5/4/5495_1234_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/4/5495_100_lacie_cloudbox_1tb_personal_nas_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases