TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,069 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

Seagate Laptop Thin 500GB Hybrid SSHD ST500LM000 Review - Seagate Laptop Thin SSHD

Seagate Laptop Thin 500GB Hybrid SSHD ST500LM000 Review
Seagate tacks on 8GB of NAND flash in its latest Hybrid SSHD, the Laptop Thin SSHD. Today we check out the 500GB model. (NASDAQ:STX)
| SSHDs in Storage | Posted: May 20, 2013 4:56 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Seagate

Seagate Laptop Thin SSHD

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5493_03_seagate_laptop_thin_500gb_hybrid_sshd_st500lm000_review.jpg

 

The Laptop Thin SSHD shipped to us in its bare drive form. At the top we find the capacity listed at 500GB, a little lower on the drive there is the Advanced Format logo denoting the drive's capability of said feature.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5493_04_seagate_laptop_thin_500gb_hybrid_sshd_st500lm000_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses a blue PCB with the SATA and power connections at the bottom. Worth noting here is the use of standard Philips screws instead of tamper proof torx.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5493_05_seagate_laptop_thin_500gb_hybrid_sshd_st500lm000_review.jpg

 

The drives power and data connections are correctly placed, insuring wide compatibility.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5493_06_seagate_laptop_thin_500gb_hybrid_sshd_st500lm000_review.jpg

 

Disassembling the drive we find an LSI controller for the platter portion of the drive with the eASIC for NAND management. For caching Seagate has employed a single Winbond 64MB DDR2 DRAM chip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5493_07_seagate_laptop_thin_500gb_hybrid_sshd_st500lm000_review.jpg

 

The NAND flash component found in our sample was the Toshiba TH58TEG6D2HBA4C, or in technical terms 8GB 24nm 8K MLC Toggle.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5493_08_seagate_laptop_thin_500gb_hybrid_sshd_st500lm000_review.jpg

 

To check the Z-Height of the drive, I setup my Starrett 799. At the drives thickest point it measured in at 6.44mm.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5493_09_seagate_laptop_thin_500gb_hybrid_sshd_st500lm000_review.jpg

 

Putting the drive on our AWS BT-201 scale we find the drive weighing in just over 91 grams.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases