TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,061 Reviews & Articles | 38,961 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Transcend 32GB Wi-Fi SDHC Review

Transcend 32GB Wi-Fi SDHC Review
Wireless streaming straight from your camera. We take a look at the Transcend Wi-Fi SDHC.
| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: May 20, 2013 4:56 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Transcend

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_99_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

 

When it comes to memory solutions, Transcend has one of the largest product portfolio's and is constantly striving to innovate new and exciting products for consumers like you and me. As I have talked many times about everything going mobile these days and in the attempt to catch up to our "On the Go" lifestyles, Transcend has taken SD card technology to the next level, introducing the Wi-Fi SD memory card.

 

Now there are many manufacturers that are starting to jump on the bandwagon for this new Wi-Fi SD technology. Just a few months ago I was approached by a few companies wanting me to take a look at their respective cards, and as I am the portable storage editor here at TweakTown, I thought this was in the very least an interesting take or upgrade to the standard SD cards of the past.

 

The Transcend Wi-Fi SD card comes in two flavours, one being the 16GB and the model we have here today, the 32GB capacity. With this new technology we must mention that these cards are not compatible with every camera and as such Transcend has published a PDF on their site detailing which cameras are supported.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_02_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.jpg

 

The packaging for the card carries the Transcend logo in large font across the top. We also found the Class 10 speed rating listed across the top along with its Wi-Fi capabilities. Transcend has included a QR code at the bottom so you can access the camera compatibility list in store.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_03_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging goes into further detail with the card's capabilities.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_04_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.jpg

 

Removing the package contents we found a very nice set of reading materials including a full color quick start guide.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_05_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.jpg

 

As with all SD cards, we find the Transcend Wi-Fi packaged in a plastic case protecting the card. Here we see the card's 32GB capacity and speed rating listed on the front as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_06_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.jpg

 

The back side of the card shows the connections for the SD card and identifying marks along the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_07_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

 

Loading up the Wi-Fi SD app on our tablet, we were first greeted with a quick setup wizard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_08_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

This is the first app I have seen that actually guides you through the setup process, a big plus in my book. After setting up the Wi-Fi access on the card, we were ready to move on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_09_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

 

With this being a Wi-Fi card, and having to connect directly to it, Transcend has allowed for you to select an Internet enabled network.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_10_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

 

After the quick start up guide, we were dropped in to the app. Here we find a full screen menu system that allows us to browse our SD cards contents, change settings and even "Shoot & View", which allows you to take photos and have them stream to you tablet or phone for instant viewing and even sharing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_13_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

 

We just had to try out the Shoot and View system Transcend has enabled on this card, and rather quickly after shooting a few pictures, they started showing up on our HP Touchpad.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_14_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

 

In our DiskBench testing we found the Transcend Wi-Fi SD card living up to its Class 10 speed rating, raking in 13MB/s transferring our set of JPEGs. We were able to achieve 16MB/s moving both RAW and AVCHD files.

 

Transcend with this new Wi-Fi SD card has achieved a new level of mobility for end users, and while this card isn't compatible with every camera, they have managed to certify it for use on a number of modern DSLR cameras.

 

The Android app was straight forward, simple to navigate and understand. With its quick start guide, you will be up and taking pictures in a matter of minutes. The Shoot and View system was a rather pleasant experience as well, with pictures streaming in seconds to my tablet.

 

Being a Class 10 card, it wasn't the highest performing on our charts, but did achieve 16MB/s in AVCHD and RAW file copy. Pricing of this card at the time of writing is set at $58.99 for the 32GB capacity and $45.99 for the smaller 16GB model. Transcend backs each of these with a two year warranty.

 

TweakTown image 5/4/5483_1234_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/4/5483_100_transcend_32gb_wi_fi_sdhc_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases