TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,098 Reviews & Articles | 39,134 News Posts

Transcend StoreJet Cloud 32GB Wireless Storage Device Review

Transcend StoreJet Cloud 32GB Wireless Storage Device Review
Personal cloud storage by Transcend, it's time to take a look at the StoreJet product and see how it performs.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: May 19, 2013 5:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Transcend

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_99_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

Wireless storage is rather abundant, and one thing I have noticed over the last few months is while most of these devices in some way share components or the same build materials, the main thing that sets them apart is how much time they put into their Android and iOS applications. After all, that is what you, the end-user, get your experience from. Transcend, being a leader in memory solutions, recently jumped in to the wireless storage market, launching the StoreJet Cloud wireless drive.

 

As this is a "Cloud" solution, Transcend, with their promise of high quality devices, have tried to take the best of both worlds and combine them into one device creating the StoreJet. A device that is said to handle five simultaneous users supporting Windows, Mac OS X, Android and iOS devices, with six hours of playback capability.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_02_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The packaging for the StoreJet has been designed to invite you into the cloud. You will find the drive tucked away behind a window giving you a glimpse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_03_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging goes into detail about the product specifications and compatibility.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_04_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The drive itself is rather small coming in at 99mm x 54mm x 16.5mm. Build materials consist of an aluminium frame with a black plastic shell giving the drive a rather pleasant aesthetic design similar to what we found with the PQI Air Bank.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_05_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

On the back of the drive we found the capacity listed, with ours being the 32GB model.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_06_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The top of the drive houses the power button inside the aluminium shell.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_07_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Looking at the bottom of the drive we found the USB port for charging the device, with a pinhole reset next to it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_08_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Powering up the drive, the green LED illuminates after a few seconds, and the LED will switch over to blue to let you know the wireless connection is ready.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_09_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Popping the rear cover off the StoreJet we found a 3.7v Lipo battery with a 2000mAh capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_10_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Internally the StoreJet is rather impressive, housing a RTL8196C network processor, along with 32GB of Toshiba MLC asynchronous NAND in a 2 x 16GB configuration. At the bottom there is an Alcor Micro AU6998N FSP.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_12_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

Moving over to the StoreJet application I found it to be very simple to use. Here we have the settings menu from which you can choose to change any number of options from security options to upgrading the firmware of the StoreJet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_13_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

The basic settings menu allows you to change the SSID of the StoreJet, along with wireless modes and channel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_14_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

As with most of these cloud storage devices, the StoreJet too allows you to connect to an access point.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_15_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.png

 

Upon entering the application, we find ourselves in spilt screen mode with one side showing us the contents of our HP Touchpad and the other the StoreJet. Along the bottom you will notice the menu system has a camera app. This allows you to take pictures from your Android or iOS device, and then they are automatically uploaded to the StoreJet, never to touch the storage capacity of the actual tablet or phone.

 

If I'm completely honest, having reviewed quite a few of products similar to the StoreJet, I must say that Transcend has done a remarkable job here. Where most companies simply don't put enough time into their app to refine it, Transcend has done so and even taken it a bit further with the device storing photos taken from the app directly.

 

Performance was quite good as well, never experiencing any disconnections from the device, even when I was quite a distance away. Connecting the StoreJet to my wireless access point was very simple to setup and within seconds I had a secure WPA2 connection, without messing about in my routers settings.

 

Pricing of the StoreJet Cloud at the time of writing is set at $71.99 for the 32GB model in our review today. The larger 64GB and 128GB models are listed at $96.99 and $179.99, respectively. Transcend backs each of these models with a two year warranty.

 

TweakTown image 5/4/5482_1234_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/4/5482_100_transcend_storejet_cloud_32gb_wireless_storage_device_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases