TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,456 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Thermaltake EVO Blue 2.0 850-Watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Thermaltake EVO Blue 2.0 850-Watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review
Thermaltake takes brings a bit of flair to market with the updated EVO Blue 2.0 850W power supply. We all know that bling means nothing without performance when it comes to computing, so let's find out if this one has both.
| 80 PLUS Gold PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 18, 2013 5:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_10_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The inside includes a little less protection than we would like to see, but nevertheless, it proved to be enough to get our unit safely to our doorstep.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_11_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Thermaltake uses a semi-glass black finish on our unit which you can see along with the I/O specification label on the top of the EVO Blue 2.0 850W PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_12_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides feature the same EVO Blue 2.0 logo with X pattern stamped into the metal. It is inverted on the other side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_14_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the back, we find the standard honeycomb mesh grill with AC input and on/off rocker switch. We also find the Turbo Charge button. You push it to get a 100-shot of nitrous... wrong subject. The button simply changes the color of the fan and forces it to operate at max speed, hence increasing cooling.

 

As such, Thermaltake feels that it is safe enough to pull 950W out of the unit when enabled. Essentially this means the power supply is underrated and probably so that it could hit the 80 PLUS Gold mark instead of being a 950W Silver unit. As the power supply is rated and advertised as an 850W model that is exactly how we will test it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_15_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Towards the front we find the modular connectors as well as the flat native cables that extend all the way into the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_16_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the unit houses the 140mm clear LED fan that cools the EVO Blue 2.0 power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_17_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All of the modular cables are of the flat ribbon type.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5471_18_thermaltake_evo_blue_2_0_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included with the unit are zip-ties, mounting screws, AC input cord, user manual and warranty card.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases