TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,668 Reviews & Articles | 36,034 News Posts

Seagate 600 Pro Enterprise SSD Review - 8K Random Read/Write

Seagate 600 Pro Enterprise SSD Review

Seagate unveils a comprehensive line of SSD solutions to solidify their position in the enterprise SSD market. Today we test the 600 Pro, its newest enterprise SATA SSD. (NASDAQ:STX)

| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: May 7, 2013 1:10 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Seagate

8K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5455_18_seagate_pro_600_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5455_19_seagate_pro_600_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

8K random read and write speed is a metric that is not tested for consumer use, but for enterprise environments this is an important aspect of performance. With several different workloads relying heavily upon 8K performance, we include this as a standard with each evaluation. Many of our Server Emulations below will also test 8K performance with various mixed read/write workloads.

 

The Seagate 600 Pro falls into the midrange between the superb read performance of the SM843 and the CloudSpeed 500. The Seagate 600 Pro averages 34,467 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5455_20_seagate_pro_600_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Seagate 600 Pro and the CloudSpeed 500 trade blows in the 8K random write testing, with very close average speeds and similar write distribution. The Seagate Pro 600 comes in just below the CloudSpeed 500 with an average of 16,053 IOPS at QD 256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5455_21_seagate_pro_600_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Seagate Pro 600 performs well in the mixed read/write testing, with an average slightly lower than the CloudSpeed 500 in the heavier mixed workloads.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5455_22_seagate_pro_600_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Seagate 600 Pro has a wide range of latency distribution in this test, with 3,131,077 I/Os (44%) at 10-20ms, 1,614,008 I/Os (33.7%) at 8-10ms, and 693,221 I/Os (14.4%) at 40-60ms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5455_23_seagate_pro_600_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Power consumption for the Seagate 600 Pro averages 3.21 Watts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5455_24_seagate_pro_600_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Seagate 600 Pro averages 4,945 IOPS, nudging the CloudSpeed 500 for the win.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below