TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,996 Reviews & Articles | 38,712 News Posts

Seagate 600 SSD ST480HM000 480GB SSD Review - Seagate 600 SSD 480GB

Seagate 600 SSD ST480HM000 480GB SSD Review

Continuing our coverage of the new Seagate 2013 SSD line up, Chris tests the largest capacity size in the consumer model category. (NASDAQ:STX)

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: May 7, 2013 1:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Seagate

Seagate 600 SSD 480GB

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5454_03_seagate_600_ssd_st480hm000_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the largest capacity size in the 600 SSD family. Seagate put together an attractive design; it's too bad the drive hides beneath plastic and metal in a notebook or desktop case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5454_04_seagate_600_ssd_st480hm000_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The model, part and serial numbers are on a sticker located on the back of the case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5454_05_seagate_600_ssd_st480hm000_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

In this article we're testing the 7mm model. The 7mm standard uses the same mounting points as 9.5mm z-height 2.5" HDD's and SSD's.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5454_06_seagate_600_ssd_st480hm000_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

7mm also uses standard SATA power and data connectors.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5454_07_seagate_600_ssd_st480hm000_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Seagate uses an anti-intrusion system and if you get your drive to this state, the warranty is void.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5454_08_seagate_600_ssd_st480hm000_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Seagate used Toshiba 19nm Toggle Mode NAND flash, the new Type C version.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5454_09_seagate_600_ssd_st480hm000_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The flash controller is the same Corsair used on the Neutron and Neutron GTX, a Link_A_Media Devices LM87800AA. The controller has two DDR2 256MB DRAM buffers from Micron.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases