TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,684 Reviews & Articles | 36,184 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

SilverStone DS322 Dual-Bay RAID Enclosure Review

SilverStone DS322 Dual-Bay RAID Enclosure Review

The complete package, SilverStone puts their touch on external storage, and doesn't fail one little bit.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: May 12, 2013 6:09 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%      Manufacturer: SilverStone

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_99_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

 

In my short time on this place we call Earth, I can't count the number of times I've told people to back up their data. Most recently, working on a family member's PC, I found myself trying to recover data from a spinner that was suffering from the dreadful "click of death" syndrome. After many trips back and forth from the freezer to my PC, I was able to recover the data, but none of this would have been necessary if they had taken the time to back up their important data. To combat the loss of data, the rather simple solution is to pick up an external storage solution such as a NAS or DAS. Most often these devices include RAID capabilities and can be found at reasonable prices, making these devices perfect for the typical user.

 

The DS322 is a user-friendly dual-bay RAID enclosure that can support RAID volumes in excess of 2.2TB. These RAID modes include 0, 1 and No-RAID. Being built primarily out of aluminium, the DS322 has been fitted with a 40mm cooling fan to exhaust excess heat during operation. Compatibility of the DS322 extends to Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 and Mac OS X.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_12_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The DS322 arrived in a black box with an image of the enclosure to the right. The model number and USB compatibility are listed in bold font, while a list of features can be found along the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_02_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Removing everything from the box, we found SilverStone included a power adapter along with the USB 3.0 cable, user manual in several languages and of course the enclosure itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_03_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Looking at the front of the DS322, we find several LED indicators running down the center of the enclosure. These indicators include power, disk activity and RAID mode.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_04_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The back of the enclosure is rather simple. Up top we find the 40mm cooling fan and reset button. At the bottom we have the Superspeed USB 3.0 connection and power adapter and switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_05_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Under the front bezel there is a locking mechanism that secures the enclosure while in use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_10_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Unlocking the enclosure and removing the front panel we find a set of DIP switches that are used to configure RAID modes. You will find a sticker on the inside of the front panel that dictates switch positions for each RAID mode.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_07_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Pulling the enclosure apart we found the controller in use is the PLX OXU3102, a dual port SATA II to USB 3.0 Bridge. It is also worth noting that this controller supports 4K Advanced Format HDD's.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_04_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Benchmarking external enclosure consists of two pieces of software that you will find readily available on the internet. The first of which is ATTO Disk Benchmark, the industry standard when it comes to marketing performance.

 

The second is DiskBench, a real-world file benchmark that uses the drives file system to read and write data. In this test we copy a 10GB directory consisting of audio, video, documents and pictures to the enclosure. Each enclosure is connected via USB 3.0 to our native ports on the Z77 chipset. The drives used in testing are a pair of Western Digital Red 1TB hard drives, and for testing the enclosures maximum speed, a pair of Corsair Neutron 256GB SSD's.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_20_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Employing a No-RAID setup, the SilverStone DS322 was able to maximize the performance of our Western Digital Red drives reaching 152MB/s read and 149MB/s write. As you will notice, our ATTO testing started at 4K thanks to the support from the enclosure of AF disk drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_21_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

 

RAID 0 was ever more impressive with the DS322 pushing numbers out in excess of 300MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_22_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

 

Setting up our drives in RAID 1, the results were within reach of the single drive results. The DS322 was able to throw out 145MB/s read and 140MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_23_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

 

To see what this enclosure was truly capable of we tossed our Corsair Neutron SSD's in and had a go with RAID 0. Looking at our results you can why I'm simply amazed with the work SilverStone has put into this enclosure. We touched 404MB/s read and 438MB/s write!

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_24_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

 

In our real-world testing we found the DS322 to be rather impressive. Transferring our 10GB directory we were able to reach speeds of 247MB/s in RAID 0, with RAID1 and No-RAID coming in around 130MB/s. This puts the DS322 at the top of our charts right next to the ICYRAID enclosure, which we recently reviewed.

 

SilverStone is one of those companies that we put on a pedestal, their products are always bathed in quality and the DS322 is no different. From the sleek black aluminium exterior, to the performance built inside, this unit represents everything that is the SilverStone touch. The front mounted LED indicators are a nice feature and even further, they aren't so bright to where they have that blinding effect. Swapping drives in and out of the enclosure is rather simple with the tool-less design, and with the DIP RAID selection switch mounted up front, you don't have to fiddle around getting behind the enclosure to switch RAID modes.

 

As I said previously, the DS322 is one of the highest performing enclosures I have seen, and as such, I have come away from this review quite impressed with what SilverStone has put together. In our testing we saw the DS322 reach speeds upwards of 450MB/s with our Neutron SSD's and even 300MB/s with our WD Red HDD's.

 

One thing that is definitely worth mentioning is upon receiving this unit I had a number of issues trying to get it to format drives through USB 3.0. After contacting SilverStone, they directed me promptly to a firmware update located on their product page. This firmware update was rather simple to run through with the included documentation and I had my enclosure up and running perfectly within minutes. So, if you find yourself in this predicament, update the firmware.

 

Pricing of the DS322 at the time of this writing is set at $79.99. This places the DS322 in perfect position against competitor's products that offer similar performance at a higher price. Simply put, if you're in the market for an external solution and want RAID capability, the DS322 is one to look at!

 

TweakTown image 5/4/5449_1234_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/4/5449_100_silverstone_ds322_dual_bay_raid_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below