TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,004 Reviews & Articles | 38,747 News Posts

Seagate 600 SSD ST240HM000 240GB SSD Review - Seagate 600 SSD 240GB

Seagate 600 SSD ST240HM000 240GB SSD Review
We have a number of Seagate SSD articles hitting TweakTown today. Let's start with the cornerstone of the mainstream consumer class. (NASDAQ:STX)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: May 7, 2013 12:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Seagate

Seagate 600 SSD 240GB

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_03_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Seagate 600 SSD. The black case is unique to the non-Pro model. Seagate put together an attractive design for the consumer market.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_04_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The capacity size, model number and serial number are all located on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_05_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We're looking at the 7mm form factor drive today. This package uses standard 2.5" mounting points so it will work in a desktop adapter bracket, case drive sled and standard notebooks. The 7mm z-height design has taken on in the ultrabook market, where it was first designed for.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_06_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

7mm drives use standard SATA power and data connectors. We've spoke about this for years with the anticipation of 5mm products. It took a little longer than we expected for 5mm to arrive, but 5mm drives do not use standard SATA power and data connectors.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_07_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Seagate's 600 and 600 Pro SSD's have an anti-intrusion system. If you ever get your SSD open to this point, you will NOT get it back together and still look the same way. The cover plate, seen here on the right bends easily and locks into place. Seagate warned us not to expect to get a drive back together, and they were right. We did manage to put it back together, but it was obvious the drive had been tampered with.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_08_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The case acts as a heatsink for the LAMD controller. This image is from the 600 Pro, but both the 600 and 600 Pro have the same extended area that contacts the LAMD controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_09_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the PCB. All of the surface mount components are located on this side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_10_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Seagate uses the same LAMD LM87800AA controller found on the Corsair Neutron Series SSD's, but Seagate tuned the programming and firmware. To the right we see the dual Micron DRAM buffers for page data.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_11_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Toshiba's new Type C 19nm Toggle flash holds the data. There are eight chips total.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5447_12_seagate_600_ssd_st240hm000_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The other side is void of components.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases