TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,088 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

PNY Prevail Elite 240GB SSD Review - PNY Prevail Elite 240GB SSD

PNY Prevail Elite 240GB SSD Review

With all the talk about TLC, 20nm and other new forms of flash that reduce the number of P/E cycles - it's nice to see one company fight against the flow. PNY's Prevail Elite is a 10K P/E cycle SSD that uses a LSI SF-2200 Series controller.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: May 10, 2013 11:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: PNY

PNY Prevail Elite 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5443_06_pny_prevail_elite_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Prevail Elite uses a 9.5mm z-height, standard notebook size case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5443_07_pny_prevail_elite_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The model, part and serial numbers can be found on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5443_08_pny_prevail_elite_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We found all of the standard mountings points positioned where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5443_09_pny_prevail_elite_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5443_10_pny_prevail_elite_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The inner case tipped up a surprise. The case was molded with two channels that contact the NAND flash. This acts as a heatsink for the NAND flash. The LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller gets a thermal pad to aid in heat extraction.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5443_11_pny_prevail_elite_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The oily residue from the thermal pad makes it nearly impossible to picture the laser etched letters on the controller, at least from a graceful angle.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5443_12_pny_prevail_elite_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are sixteen Intel 25nm NAND flash chips rated for 10K P/E cycles on the 240GB Prevail Elite. On the consumer side this flash is fairly rare, we don't see 29F16B16MCME1 very often.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below