TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,408 News Posts

Thermaltake GOrb II Portable Laptop Cooler Review - Thermaltake GOrb II Notebook Cooler

Thermaltake GOrb II Portable Laptop Cooler Review
Thermaltake dropped off a softball sized laptop cooler for testing. While unusual, let's see what the GOrb II cooler has in store for us.
| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 9, 2013 4:09 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Thermaltake GOrb II Notebook Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_08_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

You can sort of see where this design evolved from the original GOrb, but this new version is much different. The top is a rubber pad with the bright red plastic on both halves. The design is stepped to allow openings for airflow, the cabling is tended to in the middle, and the entire orb is protected with the three section rubber outer bars.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_09_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking down on top of the GOrb II, you can see the large rounded rubber pad on the top that will adjust to sit in the desktop, no matter the angle it is positioned. You can also see the intake rings for the 70mm fans, along with the three rubber protectors, which I mentioned in the last image.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_10_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

Pulling the halves apart is relatively easy since there are just three magnets, one in each of the bars where the halves meet, keeping it all together. In the middle there is a plastic disc that allows you to wrap the cord and contain the plug while traveling.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_11_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

Stepping back a bit more, with everything unwound and all the pieces sitting separated, you can see there is roughly 15" of braided cable between the halves, and 7" of power cable with the pass-through USB connection on it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_12_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

Each half has a black steel fan grill covering the nine clear blades of the 70mm fan contained within. The reverse spiral of the grill versus the fan blades curve allows this design to leave less flat spots, so this should keep noise down as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_13_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is more of a glamour shot of both halves with the Thermaltake naming and logos in the proper alignment. I get why it was done this way, but once under a notebook, the lettering is then upside down.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_14_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

Before I hide them under my Lenovo laptop, I figured I would power the fans and see what sort of LED lighting they have. As you can see, the blue LED lights are indeed very bright, as they overpower the photo lighting quite easily, and will create a nice glow under your entire notebook.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_15_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

All you have to do to set this cooler up is to lift the back of the notebook and slide in a half of the GOrb II under each side. They are moveable so you can sort of pinpoint your intake, but there is a point to where you are past the center of gravity, and the notebook will pivot over the top of these round shaped halves.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5435_16_thermaltake_gorb_ii_portable_laptop_cooler_review.jpg

 

What is really cool about this design is that you don't have to be perfect with it. As you can see, the leg of the GOrb II is resting on the pad from my notebook, but even with the offset of one of the feet, the cooler will level itself out and become stable.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases