TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,683 Reviews & Articles | 36,171 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Corsair Neutron 128GB and 256GB (2013 Hynix Edition) SSD Review - Corsair Neutron SSDs

Corsair Neutron 128GB and 256GB (2013 Hynix Edition) SSD Review

Recently Corsair made some changes to their popular Neutron Series products. Both the base model and GTX have new firmware, new flash and new price points. The Neutron 256GB is now one of the best value SSD's on the market and they are selling like crazy.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: May 8, 2013 10:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Neutron SSDs

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_06_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

Neutron is also one of the few mainstream class SSDs on the market with a 7mm z-height. Companies are quickly jumping to the new 7mm height that's designed for new ultrabooks. The ultrabook market had a slow early adaption thanks to higher than expected prices and a miserable operating experience. I'm sure the global economy played a role, but with Haswell, Intel's fourth generation Core processor on the horizon, sales are expected to skyrocket.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_07_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

With that in mind, I don't see a reason to purchase a 9.5mm, standard notebook height SSD from this point forward.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_08_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_09_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_10_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the two drives undressed, the 128GB Neutron on the left and the 256GB Neutron on the right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_11_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_12_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

Both capacity sizes share the same LAMD LM87800AA controller, the same found on the Neutron GTX as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_13_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

We expected to find Hynix DRAM in the new Neutron since the controller and DRAM came from the same entity, but Samsung DRAM is what we found.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5433_14_corsair_neutron_128gb_and_256gb_2013_edition_ssd_review.jpg

 

As we've mentioned, the new Neutron uses Hynix NAND. The only difference between the 128GB and the 256GB was the NAND density - both capacity sizes use eight NAND flash chips.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below