TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,764 News Posts

Acer Aspire S7-391 Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review - System Performance

Acer Aspire S7-391 Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review
We take a look at the Acer Aspire S7-391, the big brother to the recently reviewed S7-191. (TPE:2353)
| Touchscreen Laptops in Laptops | Posted: May 8, 2013 4:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Acer

PCMark 7

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.4.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.pcmark.com/benchmarks/

 

 

PCMark 7 is a great utility for testing a PC's all-around capabilities. It tests all aspects of the computer, from graphics performance to hard disk performance and attempts to put a score on it, which is not an easy task.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5429_73_acer_aspire_s7_391_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

You'll notice that our results have been cleared out due to us updating the test to the latest version. The Acer Aspire S7-391 manages a score of 4724, a decent score for a notebook to achieve. Comparing to our archived systems (not fully comparable), the S7-391 is towards the top of the heap, only bested by the Maingear Vybe 15 Ultimate.

 

 

Mobile Mark 2012

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.118

Developer Homepage: http://www.bapco.com

Product Homepage: http://bapco.com/products/mobilemark2012/

 

 

MobileMark 2012 is a premier benchmarking tool produced by BAPCo. It has several different scenarios built-in and allows you to choose which to run. It runs the test on battery life so that it produces both a score for the performance aspect and a run time for battery life.

 

For our testing, we chose the Office Productivity line of testing. The "Performance Qualification Rating" and battery life (in minutes) is reported below in the charts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5429_74_acer_aspire_s7_391_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

The Acer Aspire S7-391 performed very well for an Ultrabook in our MobileMark benchmark. It managed a score of 121 from a 13.3-inch machine. This is on-par, or better, than other full size systems that we have tested.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5429_75_acer_aspire_s7_391_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Battery life comes in at 212 minutes, or 3 hours and 32 minutes. This is a bit lower than other systems we have tested, but this is one of the lightest and thinnest systems that we've ever tested and you sacrifice battery life to have this sort of portability.

 

 

CrystalDiskMark

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 3.0 Technical Preview

Developer Homepage: http://www.crystalmark.info

Product Homepage: http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDiskMark/index-e.html

Download here: http://crystaldew.info/category/software/crystaldiskmark

 

CrystalDiskMark is a disk benchmark software that allows us to benchmark 4K and 4K queue depths with accuracy.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5429_76_acer_aspire_s7_391_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

The Acer Aspire S7-391 turns out some great hard disk read speeds with the sequential read coming in at 698.7MB/s, blowing away most of our systems save for the Eon 17-S that also features dual SSDs in RAID 0.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5429_77_acer_aspire_s7_391_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Write speeds are equally impressive, with sequential speeds coming in at 456.7MB/s.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases