TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,467 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Acer Aspire S7-191 Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review - System Performance

Acer Aspire S7-191 Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review
We take our first look at an Acer notebook in the form of the touchscreen Acer Aspire S7-191, an 11-inch premium Ultrabook. (TPE:2353)
| Touchscreen Laptops in Laptops | Posted: May 6, 2013 3:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 84%Manufacturer: Acer

PCMark 7

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.4.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.pcmark.com/benchmarks/

 

 

PCMark 7 is a great utility for testing a PC's all-around capabilities. It tests all aspects of the computer, from graphics performance to hard disk performance and attempts to put a score on it, which is not an easy task.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5428_73_acer_aspire_s7_191_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

You'll notice that our results have been cleared out due to us updating the test to the latest version. The Acer Aspire S7-191 manages a score of 4530, a decent score for a notebook to achieve. Comparing to our archived systems (not fully comparable), the S7-191 is towards the top of the heap.

 

 

Mobile Mark 2012

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.118

Developer Homepage: http://www.bapco.com

Product Homepage: http://bapco.com/products/mobilemark2012/

 

 

MobileMark 2012 is a premier benchmarking tool produced by BAPCo. It has several different scenarios built-in and allows you to choose which to run. It runs the test on battery life so that it produces both a score for the performance aspect and a run time for battery life.

 

For our testing, we chose the Office Productivity line of testing. The "Performance Qualification Rating" and battery life (in minutes) is reported below in the charts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5428_74_acer_aspire_s7_191_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

The Acer Aspire S7-191 performed decently for an Ultrabook in our MobileMark benchmark. It managed a score of 112 from an 11.6-inch machine. Other Ultrabooks have come in slightly higher, but they are larger machines and can house more powerful components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5428_75_acer_aspire_s7_191_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Battery life comes in at a whopping 291 minutes, or 4 hours and 51 minutes. It's important to note that the Aspire S7-191 comes with a second battery that can be attached to the system. These tests were run with that battery attached, resulting in a combined capacity of 56Wh. Without the extra battery, battery life would be about half as the external battery is roughly the same size as the internal one.

 

 

CrystalDiskMark

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 3.0 Technical Preview

Developer Homepage: http://www.crystalmark.info

Product Homepage: http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDiskMark/index-e.html

Download here: http://crystaldew.info/category/software/crystaldiskmark

 

CrystalDiskMark is a disk benchmark software that allows us to benchmark 4K and 4K queue depths with accuracy.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5428_76_acer_aspire_s7_191_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

The Acer Aspire S7-191 turns out some absolutely astounding hard disk read speeds with the sequential read coming in at a massive 816.4MB/s, blowing away all systems save for the Eon 17-S that features dual SSDs in RAID 0.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5428_77_acer_aspire_s7_191_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Write speeds are equally impressive, with sequential speeds coming in at 357.9MB/s.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases