TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,209 Reviews & Articles | 40,186 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Infortrend EonNAS Pro 510 NAS Review - Infortrend EonNAS Pro 510

Infortrend EonNAS Pro 510 NAS Review
Infortrend delivered the first 2-bay NAS we would ever consider and now they bring us the first NAS in this price category with dedupe. What is dedupe and how can this product increase your office productivity? Chris has the answer for us today.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: May 1, 2013 12:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Infortrend

Infortrend EonNAS Pro 510

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_11_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the EonNAS Pro 510. The unit doesn't have an overbearing amount of LEDs that dance or flash for little to no reason.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_12_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

The drive sleds have individual locking mechanisms, but the front door doesn't lock.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_13_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

You can configure your NAS with the front display and two-buttons. The power button is easily identifiable. There are four small LEDs on the front face that show an over temperature warning, network activity and disk activity. Each drive sled also shows drive activity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_14_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

A single USB connector on the front makes backing up your thumb drives easy. The front USB port is 2.0, the two 3.0 ports are both on the back of the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_15_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

I was a bit surprised to see the EonNAS Pro 510 is SATA only. The connectors aren't keyed for SAS HDDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_16_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_17_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_18_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

Infortrend uses an internal power supply so no power brick to deal with.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_19_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

A large fan keeps the system and your HDDs cool. The two fans are quiet, we couldn't hear the EonNAS Pro 510 from a few feet away.

 

All but one of the I/O connectors are on the back of the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_20_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5416_21_infortrend_eonnas_pro_510_nas_review.jpg

 

If you prefer to place your NAS on a desk the rubber feet help isolate vibration transfer.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases