TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,154 Reviews & Articles | 39,554 News Posts

Fractal Design ARC Midi R2 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Fractal Design ARC Midi R2 Mid-Tower Chassis Review
Fractal Design adds a new mid-tower to the ARC series of cases with this new ARC Midi R2. It's time to check it out.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 3, 2013 11:19 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Fractal Design

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_31_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

First thing I had to do was to pull the bezel. Two things I love about this design is that the fans are connected to the bezel, and not to the chassis, and that all of the wiring is free from the bezel and allows you to get a radiator mounted here much easier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_32_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Sliding in and using thumbscrews to mount the DVD drive was no hassle at all, and even with a radiator strapped to the back of the bezel now, it snaps right back into place without any clearance issues.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_33_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As you can see, with the brighter screws of the H220 kit, these 120mm fans are mounted to the bezel, and I have to say I am impressed with the integrity of the bezel, as it holds the weight like a champ, with no flex to the panel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_34_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the H220, the radiator is taller than a typical dual 120mm radiator, and since this is designed to take a dual 140mm radiator on the front bezel, I had plenty of room to add in water cooling and snap the parts into place with the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_35_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the Maximus V Gene, GTX 660, AX760 and H220 in here, I have tons of room left over to allow the natural air flow in this chassis to keep everything nice and cool, whether air cooled or water cooled. The real thing that slowed my build down was wire management without the HDD rack installed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_36_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back fills out very well, too. The dust shield snapped right in. I didn't have to turn the fan to get the wire in the right place to hide it, the card went right in, and the PSU fits snug up to the gasket. Honestly the build sort of just fell together and I turned a few thumbscrews.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_37_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I did need way more wire ties than what are provided, but it does go to show the amount of wiring you can amass in one location and still allow the panel to go an. I won't lie, it was a challenge and took some time, but I am very pleased with the build overall.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_38_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Closing up shop before we plug it in and do our testing, you can see the ARC Midi R2 looks much like it did when we pulled it out of the box. Even with the large window, because of the dark tint, you can hardly see what is inside under a ton of lighting, so in a darkened room, I advise lighting if you want to see what is inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5412_39_fractal_design_arc_midi_r2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Besides looking at the debug LED's on the ASUS motherboard, the only lighting from the chassis once things have power is what I zoomed in on here. When the system is powered, the blue LED will shine. As the HDD or SDD is called on, you will get the red flicker of the activity LED to the right. That's it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases