TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,004 Reviews & Articles | 38,747 News Posts

InWin GT1 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

InWin GT1 Mid-Tower Chassis Review
InWin delivers a chassis with a turbo... fan switch that is. Take a look at the sports car inspired GT1.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 23, 2013 10:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 75%Manufacturer: InWin

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5407_30_inwin_gt1_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since the front bezel is so open, it is nice to see a fan filter on the front 120mm fan, and is really the only reason you need to get in here. Keep in mind, that since the front I/O wiring is attached, it's going to be a real pain to get this panel off with then all maintained behind the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5407_31_inwin_gt1_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the colored accessories now applied and the DVD drive in place, I do really like the looks of the chassis much more. The drive does break up the lines at the top, but looking at it head on, it blends in well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5407_32_inwin_gt1_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside I tested the limits as best as I could. With an ATX motherboard, one of the largest CPU coolers I have, and the longer HD 7950, this case takes it all in stride. Have I mentioned yet how off-putting these green clips are yet? It bugs me more once I added the splash of red to the inside and the outside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5407_33_inwin_gt1_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear of the case was mostly a lot of the usual. The dust shield goes right in, the card lines up great, and the PSU gave me no issues. The only failure I see here is the lack of another four screws in case I want to mount more than one expansion card.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5407_34_inwin_gt1_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard tray, the options given are really more of a joke than being really usable. There are two tie point over to the right, but without the room for the 8-pin to go through the hole provided, both the hole and these tie points are worthless. What you are left with since all of the wiring except for the SATA cable are short and doesn't leave much option to clean things up.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5407_35_inwin_gt1_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the panels back on and the interior closed off, it is like I am seeing two cases at once. There is so much detail and sleek lines with a good layout externally, and the inside seems like an afterthought.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5407_36_inwin_gt1_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With power applied there is very minimal case lighting to deal with. The rear case fan does light up with red LEDs, but the tint of the side window negates anything being seen from it. On the top of the chassis the power button will illuminate with a blue LED denoting power, and the "headlights" are lit minimally with blue LEDs as well.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases