TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,098 Reviews & Articles | 39,131 News Posts

SanDisk Extreme Pro SDHC and microSDHC Memory Card Review

SanDisk Extreme Pro SDHC and microSDHC Memory Card Review
True performance for the professional in all of us. We review the latest SD and microSD cards from SanDisk, and see how they perform.
| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Apr 30, 2013 7:20 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: SanDisk

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_99_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.png

 

In this day and age speed is everything, next to capacity of course. SanDisk, with their wide knowledge of flash memory systems, has once again raised the bar, the bar that they set themselves with the Extreme line-up of SD and micro SD cards. These new memory cards have been garnished with the latest in technology with a UHS I rating, and with the newest of DSLR cameras catching up to this specification it's a welcomed upgrade especially for those of you that enjoy shooting full sessions in burst mode.

 

For our review today, SanDisk sent over the 16GB microSDHC card along with its bigger brother, the 32GB Extreme Pro SDHC. Both of these new memory cards enjoy dual speed ratings with a Class 10 and UHS I interface. Marketing dictates that each of these cards is capable of 95MB/s read and 90MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_02_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Starting with the 32GB Extreme Pro SDHC, we find it enclosed in the standard plastic casing to protect the card while not in use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_03_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The card itself shares the same aesthetic design that we saw on the 128GB compact flash, which we reviewed recently. On the front of the card you will find its dual speed classes listed along with its max speed of 95MB/s displayed under the shine of the Extreme Pro branding.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_04_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back side of the card carries the connections for the card. SanDisk has also embossed there logo here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_05_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Moving over to the microSDHC Extreme Pro, we find that it too was protected as all SD cards are.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_06_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

SanDisk chose to change up the design a bit and at the same time kept the gold that defines the Extreme Pro line-up. On the front, this card too has all the markings that define its speed classes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_07_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

On the back of the card you can see the NAND package and connections.

 

To test SD cards we utilize the same benchmarks we use for Flash Drives with the exception of AS SSD which we use primarily for access times. These include CrystalDiskMark, ATTO and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the ImageMate AIO from SanDisk.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_08_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The 32GB Extreme Pro SDHC card gives us 29.7GB of usable space after formatting.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_09_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

ATTO showed that the SDHC was capable of 93MB/s read and 87MB/s write, just shy of what the marketing said was capable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_10_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

CDM showed similar results. We were able to achieve 93MB/s read and 86MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_11_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Moving on to AS SSD we see the Extreme Pro had a read access time of 1.02ms and write access was just behind at 2.7ms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_12_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Formatted capacity of the 16GB Extreme Pro microSDHC was 14.8GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_13_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Right behind its bigger brother, the microSDHC Extreme Pro was able to achieve 92MB/s read and 86MB/s write in ATTO.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_14_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Running CDM we found the micro was capable of 93MB/s read and 85MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_15_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Read access for the micro ended up being 1.38ms while the write access was significantly higher at 5.6ms.

 

Whether you are looking for a new storage solution for your shiny new tablet or high-end DSLR camera, SanDisk has you covered with the Extreme Pro line-up. If your one that also cares about aesthetics then this too is covered by SanDisk. Carrying over the bits of gold give the Extreme Pro brand recognition and at the same time catch your eye in a retail setting.

 

Performance of each of these cards was quite surprising, and to be honest wasn't expected, even though marketing said it was capable. In ATTO we saw both cards hit near the 95MB/s mark and access times in AS SSD were spectacular minus the 5ms+ we saw on the micro card during write testing.

 

Pricing for each of these drives at the time of writing is a bit of a wash with availability being very slim at the moment. However, I was able to find the 16GB microSDHC for $49.99 at a few online retailers. The bigger 32GB SDHC card has higher availability thus the price of $59.99. Both of these cards carry SanDisk's limited lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image 5/4/5400_1234_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/4/5400_100_sandisk_extreme_pro_sdhc_and_microsdhc_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases