TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,007 Reviews & Articles | 38,761 News Posts

SanDisk Extreme Pro 128GB Compact Flash Memory Card Review

SanDisk Extreme Pro 128GB Compact Flash Memory Card Review
Extreme storage for the professional, we test the latest compact flash memory card from SanDisk, and see how it performs.
| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Apr 26, 2013 3:28 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: SanDisk

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_99_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

 

The 1990's were a time of innovation. CERN laid out the plans for the World Wide Web, Intel launched its Pentium processor, Digital SLR cameras made their first appearance and a company still in its infancy laid out the specifications for the Compact Flash memory card, a company we now know as SanDisk.

 

Compact Flash memory cards are categorized as Type I and Type II. Type I carries a 3.3mm thickness where Type II carries 5mm. The speed ratings for Compact Flash, usually seen as a "X" rating, utilize the same system used for CD-ROMs and indicates the maximum transfer rate in the form of a multiplier based on the original audio CD data transfer rate, which is 150KB/s.

 

The SanDisk Extreme Pro that we are looking at today carries a 667x speed rating with marketing specifications giving us 100MB/s read and write. The drive is also UDMA7 enabled and conforms to the CFA 6.0 specification, which enables TRIM and transfer speeds up to 167MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_02_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The Extreme Pro comes packaged in a plastic housing to protect the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_03_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking over the memory card, SanDisk has pronounced the capacity proudly to the right where we see 128GB listed in large font. Identifying marks on the card show its UDMA7 capability and the cut scene logo implies the Extreme Pro is capable of 20MB/s sustained write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_04_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back of the card carries a label so that you can keep track of what you have recorded on the card, for storage or safe keeping.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_05_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The interface used on the SanDisk Extreme Pro is a Compact Flash Type I 50 Pin.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_06_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Pulling the card apart we can see SanDisk chose a 32GB x 4 configuration. The controller used in this card is what SanDisk calls a "Power Core Controller".

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_07_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back of the PCB houses two more NAND packages labelled 7008-032G all of which are manufactured in house. SanDisk has also placed RTV silicon on the NAND in an effort to seal the unit for added durability.

 

To test Compact Flash cards we utilize the same benchmarks we use for Flash Drives. These include CrystalDiskMark, ATTO and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the Vantec UGT-CR935.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_08_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Our first look over the card shows its storage capacity of 199GB formatted in the FAT32 file system.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_09_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Running our Extreme Pro through ATTO we were able to achieve 95MB/s read and 101MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_10_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

CDM showed similar results. We were able to achieve 94MB/s read and 99MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_11_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The video used in this test was shot with a Panasonic x900 Camcorder at 1080p 60FPS. Transferring this video to our Extreme Pro card took 17 seconds at a rate of 81MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_12_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Transferring our JPG photo took all of 47ms at a rate of 40MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_13_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The last test, transferring our RAW image shot with our Panasonic Lumix, took just 250ms to transfer at a rate of 77MB/s.

 

The SanDisk Extreme Pro is aesthetically pleasing, with the black and red design SanDisk has used many times before in their SSD and SD card line-ups. This time though, with the card being an "Extreme Pro", they opted for a bit of gold colouring to catch your eye.

 

Performance was on par with marketing specifications and its speed rating of 667x. In both ATTO and CDM, we saw the card reach near 100MB/s in both read and write. Real world testing showed the card capable of 77MB/s transferring RAW image files and 81MB/s transferring full HD video. While this isn't the fastest Compact Flash card on the market, it does offer the promise of full HD video recording and is capable of extreme high speed shooting with your DSLR.

 

We were able to find this card at the time of writing for $819.99 at a few online stores, with others pricing it $1200 and above. This pricing appears to reflect the availability of the capacity as 64GB units sell for a much cheaper price of $284.99 with wide market presence. SanDisk backs this card with a top-tier lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image 5/3/5398_1234_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/3/5398_100_sandisk_extreme_pro_128gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases