TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,463 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS VivoBook S500C Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review - System Performance

ASUS VivoBook S500C Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review
We take a look at ASUS' S500C Ultrabook. This 15.6-inch VivoBook Ultrabook packs touch capabilities without a massive price tag.
| Touchscreen Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Apr 19, 2013 12:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: ASUS

PCMark 7

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.4.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.pcmark.com/benchmarks/

 

 

PCMark 7 is a great utility for testing a PC's all-around capabilities. It tests all aspects of the computer, from graphics performance to hard disk performance and attempts to put a score on it, which is not an easy task.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5395_73_asus_vivobook_s500c_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Likely due to the S500C relying on a spinning 500GB hard drive, it doesn't fare so well in our PCMark 7 test. You'll notice that our results have been cleared out due to us updating the test to the latest version. It manages a score of 2970, which is below the two Acer Ultrabooks we have in the lab. A solid state drive would likely boost this score in line with those other systems.

 

 

Mobile Mark 2012

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.118

Developer Homepage: http://www.bapco.com

Product Homepage: http://bapco.com/products/mobilemark2012/

 

 

MobileMark 2012 is a premier benchmarking tool produced by BAPCo. It has several different scenarios built-in and allows you to choose which to run. It runs the test on battery life so that it produces both a score for the performance aspect and a run time for battery life.

 

For our testing, we chose the Office Productivity line of testing. The "Performance Qualification Rating" and battery life (in minutes) is reported below in the charts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5395_74_asus_vivobook_s500c_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

The ASUS S500C isn't exactly the most powerful system we've had through our lab. In fact, it scored the lowest we've ever had a system score on our MobileMark 2012 benchmark. Again, I would venture to guess that the score was hampered by the use of a spinning hard disk to keep costs down.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5395_75_asus_vivobook_s500c_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Battery life comes in at a respectable 250 minutes, or 4 hours and 10 minutes. Some systems, such as ASUS' S56C manage to outperform the S500C in battery life, but not by too much. 250 minutes is a good amount of runtime, especially considering the price of the system.

 

 

CrystalDiskMark

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 3.0 Technical Preview

Developer Homepage: http://www.crystalmark.info

Product Homepage: http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDiskMark/index-e.html

Download here: http://crystaldew.info/category/software/crystaldiskmark

 

CrystalDiskMark is a disk benchmark software that allows us to benchmark 4K and 4K queue depths with accuracy.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5395_76_asus_vivobook_s500c_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

CrystalDiskMark really shows how a spinning hard drive just doesn't perform at the same speeds as a solid state drive. The ASUS S500C's HDD manages a sequential read speed of 94.5MB/s, faster than the S56C, but not faster than any other machine.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5395_77_asus_vivobook_s500c_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Write speeds follow the same trend. The S500C outperforms the S56C, but fails to beat the other systems due to their inclusion of a solid state drive.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases