TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,978 Reviews & Articles | 38,627 News Posts

CaseLabs Merlin SM8 Full-Tower Customizable Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

CaseLabs Merlin SM8 Full-Tower Customizable Chassis Review

One of the best engineered chassis designs on the market. Have a look at the Merlin SM8 from CaseLabs.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 12, 2013 4:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: CaseLabs

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5387_36_caselabs_merlin_sm8_full_tower_customizable_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since CaseLabs offer the option to do so, I took the motherboard tray, and by removing the outer four screws and replacing them with the longer ones that come with the rubber feet, you can isolate the tray and offer clearance needed to have a tech bench.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5387_37_caselabs_merlin_sm8_full_tower_customizable_chassis_review.jpg

 

At this point, this is it. Now just add in the motherboard, cooler, video card, and maybe a fan and test away with complete access to components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5387_38_caselabs_merlin_sm8_full_tower_customizable_chassis_review.jpg

 

As for the chassis, I grabbed the thick rubber feet and found they have a washer in them to keep the screw from compacting the foot, or allowing the screws to go in too deep. These do offer secure footing, but will leave black rings on the surface it sits on for a while.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5387_39_caselabs_merlin_sm8_full_tower_customizable_chassis_review.jpg

 

Following the steps in the instructions, I also added a strip of the rubber tape to each side of the power supply support rack.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5387_40_caselabs_merlin_sm8_full_tower_customizable_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since I wanted to go with the reversed internal layout, I thought I would show what I had to go through. You need to swap the I/O and front bezel to the left side, and there were about 30 screws to get the tray and the rear of the chassis apart to allow you to move the tray over.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5387_41_caselabs_merlin_sm8_full_tower_customizable_chassis_review.jpg

 

I added a reservoir for the GPU loop to the top of the chassis, and you can see the radiator peeking over the top. I also added the Flex-Bay to the front to have a place for a pair of 120mm fans.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5387_42_caselabs_merlin_sm8_full_tower_customizable_chassis_review.jpg

 

Moving around to the right this time, since I reversed the layout, you can see the Merlin SM8 takes on a ton of hardware and has plenty of room to get in there elbows deep to fix something or add in more hardware later. It truly is one of the most spacious designs on the market.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases