TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,128 News Posts

Comay Pluto SC3 Enterprise SSD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

Comay Pluto SC3 Enterprise SSD Review
Comay's Pluto SC3 features an LSI SandForce 2481 controller in tandem with Intel 25nm MLC NAND. With enterprise class features, such as host power-loss protection and enhanced data security, and a low price point, this will make for a good option for the value-conscious.
| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 25, 2013 3:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: CoreRise Electronics

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5386_11_comay_pluto_sc3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

We preconditioned the Comay Pluto SC3 with 50% compressible data for 18,000 seconds, or five hours, receiving reports on several parameters of workload performance every second. We then plot this data to illustrate the drives' descent into steady state. Please refer to the previous page for a note on data compressibility.

 

This chart consists of 36,000 data points. This is a dual-axis chart with the IOPS on the left and the latency on the right. The black dots signify IOPS during the test, and the brown dots are latency measurements during the test period. We place latency data in a logarithmic scale to bring it into comparison range. The lines through the data scatter are the average during the test. This type of testing presents standard deviation and maximum/minimum I/O in a visual manner.

 

Note that the IOPS and Latency figures are nearly mirror images of each other. This illustrates the point that high-granularity testing can give our readers a good feel for the latency distribution by viewing IOPS at one-second intervals. This should be in mind when viewing our test results below.

 

We provide histograms for further latency granularity below. This downward slope of performance happens very few times in the lifetime of the device, typically during the first few hours of life, and we present the precondition results only to confirm steady state convergence.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5386_12_comay_pluto_sc3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The Comay Pluto SC3 averages 44,558 IOPS in a pure 4K read environment at QD256, below the other competitors.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5386_13_comay_pluto_sc3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Garbage collection routines are more pronounced in heavy write workloads. This leads to more variability in performance, and the Pluto SC3 has a wide range of performance, averaging 25,483 IOPS. This wild variance in read performance equates to some read operations occurring in the sub-15K IOPS range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5386_14_comay_pluto_sc3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The Pluto SC3's performance variability during write operations is clear in this testing, with a much looser range of performance in comparison to the other SSDs in the test pool. The P400m does fall slightly lower in the 70-90% write testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5386_15_comay_pluto_sc3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Pluto SC3 has 4,010,350 I/Os (52.6%) fall into the 10-20ms range, and 3,340,094 I/Os (43.8%) at the 5-6ms range. The latency mirrors the SC3's close performance to the P400m in the testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5386_16_comay_pluto_sc3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our precondition run. We calculate the stated average results during the last five minutes of the test, after the device has settled into steady state.

 

The Pluto SC3's power consumption falls into the lower range of the test pool, with an average of 3.74 Watts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5386_17_comay_pluto_sc3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our precondition run, and the stated average is from the last five minutes of the test.

 

The Comay Pluto SC3's wide 4K write performance variability leads to a very scattered performance range that runs behind the other SSDs in the test pool. The Pluto SC3 averages 7,134 IOPS per Watt, the P400m comes in very close with 7,624 IOPS per Watt, the Intel scores 8,336 IOPS per Watt and the Optimus scores 6,617 IOPS per Watt.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases