TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SuperSSpeed S301 Hyper Gold SLC Enterprise SSD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

SuperSSpeed S301 Hyper Gold SLC Enterprise SSD Review
The SuperSSpeed Hyper Gold SLC SSD typically competes in the consumer market. With a great price point and impressive endurance from its SLC NAND, the S301 has great crossover appeal. Today we test the S301 against the current heavyweights in the enterprise SSD market.
| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 19, 2013 4:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Richmax Technology

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5349_11_supersspeed_s301_hyper_gold_slc_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

We precondition the SuperSSpeed S301 with 50% compressible data for 18,000 seconds, or five hours, receiving reports on several parameters of workload performance every second. We then plot this data to illustrate the drives' descent into steady state. Please refer to the previous page for a note on data compressibility.

 

This chart consists of 36,000 data points. This is a dual-axis chart with the IOPS on the left and the latency on the right. The black dots signify IOPS during the test, and the brown dots are latency measurements during the test period. We place latency data in a logarithmic scale to bring it into comparison range. The lines through the data scatter are the average during the test. This type of testing presents standard deviation and maximum/minimum I/O in a visual manner.

 

Note that the IOPS and Latency figures are nearly mirror images of each other. This illustrates the point that high-granularity testing can give our readers a good feel for the latency distribution by viewing IOPS at one-second intervals. This should be in mind when viewing our test results below.

 

We provide histograms for further latency granularity below. This downward slope of performance happens very few times in the lifetime of the device, typically during the first few hours of life, and we present the precondition results only to confirm steady state convergence.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5349_12_supersspeed_s301_hyper_gold_slc_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The SuperSSpeed S301 averages 56,063 IOPS in a pure 4K read environment at QD256. The SATA Intel DC S3700 rides above the Micron P400m and the S301 by roughly 10,000 IOPS. The SAS SMART Optimus is far ahead of our SATA competitors, at over 90,000 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5349_13_supersspeed_s301_hyper_gold_slc_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Garbage collection routines are more pronounced in heavy write workloads. This leads to more variability in performance, and the SuperSSpeed S301 has a wide range of performance though it averages an impressive 50,606 IOPS. This outstrips all of the other SSDs, and the benefits of using SLC are readily apparent in this test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5349_14_supersspeed_s301_hyper_gold_slc_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The SuperSSpeed S301 has very little variance as we mix in heavier write workloads. The MLC SSD's fall into an expected pattern, with slower write performance with heavier workloads. SLC NAND provides a clear advantage in heavy write workloads to the S301.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5349_15_supersspeed_s301_hyper_gold_slc_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The SuperSSpeed S301 has 11,715,408 I/Os (77.4%) fall into the 4-6ms range, and 2,325,946 I/Os (15.3%) fall into the 6-8ms range.

 

Unsurprisingly the SuperSSpeed S301 provides superb overall latency as a byproduct of its SLC NAND.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5349_16_supersspeed_s301_hyper_gold_slc_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our precondition run. We calculate the stated average results during the last five minutes of the test, after the device has settled into steady state.

 

The SuperSSpeed S301's power consumption falls into the lower end of our chart, with an average of 4.03 Watts in steady state.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5349_17_supersspeed_s301_hyper_gold_slc_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our precondition run, and the stated average is from the last five minutes of the test. The SuperSSpeed S301 flies high, averaging 13,000 IOPS per Watt. The other SSDs all fall into the same range, with the P400m disappearing into the gap between the Intel DCS3700 and the SMART Optimus.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases