TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

InWin G7 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - Inside the G7

InWin G7 Mid-Tower Chassis Review
If the GT1 case was a little too out there for you, InWin offers a sleeker version with the G7.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 25, 2013 6:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 73%Manufacturer: InWin

Inside the G7

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_14_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With an all-black design, at least the lime green tool-free clips on the optical bays don't look so bad this time, but I don't understand why the wiring gets tended to so nicely in the GT1, but with the G7, the wiring is left to just flop around with every shift of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_15_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Getting up close, there are three 5.25" bays with those awesome clips. The nice thing is that all three are functional as the front I/O wiring is routed out fast enough not to get in the way.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_16_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

For 3.5" and 2.5" drives, this is what you get. The top half has been removed reducing the total of four 3.5" drives this time. Something else I found with this chassis is that the 2.5" drive spot on the top doesn't really allow for wiring to connect correctly, rendering this pretty useless.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_17_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The roof of the chassis still offers handy clips to mount a 120mm fan, but you can see it has been reduced to only one fan this time.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_18_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

InWin used the same partial motherboard tray found in the GT1 as well. It does offer an access hole, some management holes to the right, and allows ATX boards with the steel bump standoffs, but for Micro-ATX, you have to add some risers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_19_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The floor of the chassis has a pair of rails to support the PSU and keep the fan grill off the floor. The area in front of it will take a 120mm or 80mm fan, and is pushed as close to the HDD rack as possible for clearance of the PSU wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_20_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The fan in the rear of the chassis has changed this time. Instead of the clear fan with red LEDs, this time we get a plain black fan. I am sure the specifications of this fan are also different from the one in the GT1, but we will get them spinning soon enough to see for ourselves.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_21_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

InWin at least bundled all the wiring near the top, but I tried to get them out of the way to show the rest of this area. You are still pretty limited to 25mm in total with the door panel on for wiring, and it does seem the majority of the wiring is longer in this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5340_22_inwin_g7_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I tried to include all of the wiring, you can see it is all spread out. There is the SATA power connector, 3-pin fan connector for the fan control, and the rear fan power leads as you look near the top. On the table you can see the front fan power lead, USB 2.0, front panel wiring, USB 3.0, a SATA cable for the dock and HD Audio connections.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases