TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,563 News Posts

Mach Xtreme MX-ES 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Mach Xtreme MX-ES 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review
With UASP support and SLC NAND, we test the ES flash drive from Mach Xtreme and see how it performs.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Apr 21, 2013 5:30 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Mach Xtreme

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_99_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

When I was initially contacted by Mach Xtreme to have this sample sent over, we discussed the possibility that this drive may be the first SLC based flash drive we have tested. Since then I have looked back at all my previous articles and found that there was, in fact a previous drive that used single layer cell NAND and that was the Lexar Triton we reviewed just a month back. That is just one out of the five we have seen, leading us to the conclusion that SLC drives aren't all that common anymore, being replaced by MLC and TLC counterparts.

 

The MX-ES is the latest flash drive to come out of the Mach Xtreme camp and if we are judging the "book" by its cover than you wouldn't think this drive is anything special. The MX-ES aesthetically looks like a "generic" flash drive, but what it has going for it internally is another story. Before we dig further into the review we must go over the OS compatibility of the drive and its included warranty. For this we find Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8 along with Mac OS X listed. Warranty of the drive is set at five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_02_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

As I stated in the opening the MX-ES is a rather simple drive. Nothing about it would make you think it's anything special besides its metal flake paint job.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_03_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The flip-side of the drive shares the same scheme as the front, just a simple MX-Technology logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_04_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The MX-ES being a USB 3.0 flash drive has its port colored blue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_05_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Opening up the drive we find the flash controller on the left and NAND to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_06_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The backside houses another 16GB NAND package. There is no FCBGA code, nor did we find any other identifying marks on this NAND, but using tools find on the internet we figured out that it is Intel 8K SLC synchronous NAND.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_07_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The controller for this drive is the Innostor IS902. It supports a 2 channel 8-bit NAND flash interface and complies with ONFI 2.2 specifications.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_08_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Plugging in the MX-ES we were greeted with 30.2GB of usable space. The drive is formatted with the FAT32 file system from the factory.

 

One of the lesser known features of running Microsoft's new operating system Windows 8 is the native capability of USB Attached SCSI or UASP. To start my benchmarking procedure I secure erased the MX-ES, as I do all drives I test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_10_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Marketing specifications for the MX-ES state that this drive is capable of 170MB/s read and 185MB/s write. Looking over our ATTO results we see the MX-ES did just that coming in at 169MB/s read and 185MB/s write.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_11_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

As we have seen in previous reviews ATTO and CDM most often share the same results and the MX-ES was no different. We pulled 169MB/s read and 185MB/s write in sequential testing. QD32 gave us pretty decent read numbers at 5MB/s where the write test saw a severe loss in throughput.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_12_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

DiskBench showed the MX-ES capable of 19MB/s transferring our batch of 1000 photos in 78 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_13_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The transfer of our video files was much quicker at 157MB/s and only 35 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_14_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Moving our Windows 7 install to the MX-ES was completed in just 27 seconds at 147MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_15_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Looking at our chart above you can see where the MX-ES fits in, having numbers incredibly similar to our other SLC based flash drive, the Lexar JD Triton.

 

Aesthetically the MX-ES is a "sleeper", much like that Honda Civic down the road with a turbo charged 600HP engine. Sure, if you were looking at this drive on the store shelf then you would know it has SLC NAND as Mach Xtreme displays it on the packaging with proud bold lettering, but the drive alone doesn't flaunt what's inside.

 

It's a widely known fact in this day and age that SLC NAND is superior in almost every facet. It carries higher P/E cycles, 100K compared to 10K for MLC and the paltry 5K for TLC, lower power consumption and increased write speeds. All of this technology will be found inside this flash drive from MX-Technology.

 

As far as performance is concerned, the MX-ES was capable of marketing specifications as you saw in this review, while not being the fastest drive in our testing, with its SLC NAND configuration you do get much more durability and thus longer life.

 

Pricing of this drive at the time of writing is set at $59.99. If you compared this to the Lexar Triton which uses the same internal materials and is priced higher at $65.99, then it's easy to come to the conclusion that the MX-ES is the best consumer drive with enterprise durability.

 

TweakTown image 5/3/5338_1234_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/3/5338_100_mach_xtreme_mx_es_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases