TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,073 Reviews & Articles | 38,997 News Posts

Enermax Ostrog Giant Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Enermax Ostrog Giant Mid-Tower Chassis Review
Enermax revives the Ostrog chassis and delivers the new mid-tower called the Ostrog Giant.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 20, 2013 12:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Enermax

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_30_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To slide in the optical drive I had to remove the front panel to accomplish this. The three mesh bays covers have to be removed from the inside of the bezel, and I was happy to see that none of the wiring is attached and this whole panel can be removed and rinsed to maintain its cleanliness.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_31_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the drive in place it definitely breaks up the mesh that ran the entire front of this chassis. To be honest though, that bright red ring on the chassis does attract the eyes away from the drive, though.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_32_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I had no issues to speak of when installing my components. I got both drives in the ODD rack, but I left both sections of the HDD rack in to show there is plenty of room for most cards out of the box. I also like that I was able to get all of the wiring but the GPU power leads behind the motherboard tray for a clean finished product.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_33_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back, the rear I/O dust shield popped right into place, the video card slid right in and the screws hold it in securely, and the PSU falls right into place and screws in without a problem.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_34_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard tray I didn't really have to try much at all. The front wiring is just long enough to get to the various parts of the motherboard, so they run where they can. As for the PSU wiring, I left most of it lose and just tied in the 8-pin lead as they offered the tie points right where it has to go.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_35_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I put the panels back on the chassis I figured I would take a peek inside of the window to see what we have a view of. In reality, unless you really light the interior, there is barely a view given since the window is tinted so dark. You do get an idea of what is going on though, so at least there is that.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_36_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the fact that the front chassis lights can be turned off with the switch next to the blue power LED, if you would like, for night time, you can only have this LED to deal with in an otherwise dark room.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5337_37_enermax_ostrog_giant_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the light switch on, you do get a pretty decent amount of red lighting coming through the face of the chassis, but I don't think that the lighting of these fans is what is going to be annoying to most people.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases