TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Intel 525 Series mSATA SSD Review: Five Capacities Tested - Intel 525 Series mSATA SSDs

Intel 525 Series mSATA SSD Review: Five Capacities Tested
Chris takes five Intel mSATA SSDs from the 525 Series for a spin. The mSATA standard is all around you in new products and you might not even know your new notebook has an open mSATA slot.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Apr 3, 2013 11:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Intel

Intel 525 Series mSATA SSDs

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_04_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

We found the same brown box packaging for the 525 Series drives at Newegg. Your drive will arrive in a small brown box with an identification label on the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_05_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

Inside the box we found an anti-static bag with the drive inside a plastic carrier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_06_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_07_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at an Intel 525 Series. The label shows the model number, serial number, capacity size and so on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_08_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

All 525 Series SSDs use a LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller and pair the controller with 25nm NAND flash.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_09_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_10_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

The two odd capacity sizes (90GB and 180GB) use only three NAND flash chips to achieve their capacity size.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_11_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

I can start my own mSATA basketball team!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases