TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,671 Reviews & Articles | 36,049 News Posts

Intel 525 Series mSATA SSD Review: Five Capacities Tested - Intel 525 Series mSATA SSDs

Intel 525 Series mSATA SSD Review: Five Capacities Tested

Chris takes five Intel mSATA SSDs from the 525 Series for a spin. The mSATA standard is all around you in new products and you might not even know your new notebook has an open mSATA slot.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Apr 3, 2013 11:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Intel

Intel 525 Series mSATA SSDs

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_04_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

We found the same brown box packaging for the 525 Series drives at Newegg. Your drive will arrive in a small brown box with an identification label on the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_05_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

Inside the box we found an anti-static bag with the drive inside a plastic carrier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_06_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_07_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at an Intel 525 Series. The label shows the model number, serial number, capacity size and so on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_08_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

All 525 Series SSDs use a LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller and pair the controller with 25nm NAND flash.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_09_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_10_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

The two odd capacity sizes (90GB and 180GB) use only three NAND flash chips to achieve their capacity size.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5314_11_intel_525_series_msata_ssd_review_five_capacities_tested.jpg

 

I can start my own mSATA basketball team!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below